Aaahh, Thursday. I love Thursdays. And as you know, I also love plants. I love how beautiful they are, how they don’t talk back, how they reward me with new leaves or burgeoning blossoms.

But not everyone loves plants. Many people are convinced they have a black thumb, like a curse that can never be lifted. I don’t get that – they’re plants, not rocket science.

I keep telling them that if they let me, I can show them how to turn their black thumb green. Most don’t believe me.

For those who are willing to give me a shot, let’s get started with Plants 101!

Black thumb, meet Pothos.

Oh pretty Pothos with your heart-shaped leaves and feminine aura. Officially called Scindapsus aureus, lots of people think they are Philodendrons but they are not.

Pothos is one of the prettiest and easiest houseplants available. If you have a black thumb, Pothos will single-leafedly turn it green.

What makes Pothos plants so easy?

1) Pothos are super tolerant of neglect.

2) They show you when they are thirsty.

See how its leaves are wilted and soft? That is one thirsty plant.

3) They perk right back up after you water them. This plant returned to its normal look by the end of the day.

4) They don’t need sunlight. As a general rule of thumb, the darker the leaves, the less light a plant needs. So most Pothos with their dark green leaves don’t need a sunny window. You could put them on a bookshelf somewhere and they’d be fine. (Not including variegated Pothos, which have much lighter leaves.)

5) They don’t even need dirt. If you really want a splash of green in your house, but don’t want to expend any effort, Pothos is the plant for you.

Cuttings can live in water pretty much forever. That means as a black thumb, the only thing you have to do is add more water to the container. Everyone knows how to pour.

How to Repot a Pothos

Pothos are also delightfully easy to repot or transplant. I had a bunch of scraggly old Pothos that needed new life.

You can repot the plants in your living room if it’s too cold outside.

Step one is to take the plant out of its current pot.

Step two is to tickle the roots away from the soil.

I had some cuttings in water that I combined with the scraggly vines I got from the potted plant, and I put them all together in a new pot for step three.

Step four is to add more dirt and pack it in there firmly so the plant vines don’t fall out of the pot.

Step five is to give the newly potted plant some water. That’s all there is to it.

So no excuses black thumbs. This is really easy stuff.

Tomorrow, we’ll have a brand new edition of Ask the Experts. And an answer to Name That Plant Problem. Last week I asked what happened to this leaf.

Some great guesses, but still no winner. The hint is that it was around bored used car salesmen. Jerks.

If you think you know the answer, leave it in the comment section. There are no prizes, only glory and my gratitude for playing.

Happy indoor gardening everyone!

