Oh dear.

Someone’s not happy!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

Unless of course she’s bowing to me as a display of respect and admiration for my superior caretaking skills.

Riiiiiight.

The plant is Izzy, a Kalanchoe rhombopilosa, which I picked up from a Master Gardeners’ plant sale here in Albuquerque a few years ago. She came with no instructions, no guidance, no helpful care tips. Online, there’s very little info about how big she’s supposed to grow, how wide she should be, what the heck I’m supposed to do with her.

But if I’ve learned to read her correctly, flopping over forward means she’s not crazy about me right now.

So I chopped her head off:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

Haha, sometimes I amuse me.

Seriously, no Kalanchoes were hurt during this blog post.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

The plant may have simply been top heavy, and that’s why it toppled over.

Or it could be a water issue – too much or not enough. She sits on my kitchen windowsill, and perhaps gets a little too much attention from me.

From what I managed to gather online, these plants don’t grow very tall. They’re meant to be little. So maybe she got too tall for her own good?

I prefer that explanation over a watery one!

Even though I don’t know much about this type of Kalanchoe, one thing I do know is that I can plant the leaves that fell off and start a new plant.

Easy propagation is always a very, very good quality in a plant.

Here are the leaves in moist vermiculite (the top inch or so, there’s soil beneath):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

The vermiculite should help promote quick roots, but the leaves don’t even need it. I could’ve put them in regular soil, or even back in the same pot they had been in, and they’d grow just fine.

With the bottom leaves clipped off and planted, I planted the big stem in the same pot:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

And now Izzy has another offspring (her second).

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Kalanchoe gone haywire

If anyone out there has grown Kalanchoe rhombopilosas, I’d love to hear about it. What were your experiences? Got any growing tips? Lemme know in the comments section! And thanks!

