Hello plum blossoms, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Ah Friday, once again we welcome you with open arms. It’s so good of you to save us from our boring ol’ workweek. We appreciate it!

We’ll get our Friday festivities started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

Such cutiepatooties! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

As you regular readers know, the Experts volunteer their time to be with us week after week. So occasionally I like to give them a break – they’ve earned it. They’ll be starting a new break after today’s panel. I wanted to know if they had any parting thoughts to share with you, so I asked:

Q. We’ll take a break from the Experts Panel for the rest of March. Do you have any thoughts for our readers before you go?

Expert Andy Williams, you’re up first as usual:

A. Hi dedicated readers and fellow panelists and our lovely moderator.  My thoughts can be summarized succinctly for March (PCWBST):

Pray….that your team gets into the big dance
Celebrate…..St. Patrick’s Day with green beer, corned beef, cabbage and potatoes
Watch…..the big dance and hope for upsets to take center stage again in what has been a pretty boring tournament in recent years
Boo….Kentucky
Settle In….for America’s pastime, Baseball Season!

Thaw Out….everywhere East of CO and North of the Gulf of Mexico

A. Here are some random things I’ve accumulated over the years:

  • Life is always important, but never serious. (credit to my mom for this one)
  • Never let your morals get in the way of doing what’s right. (Isaac Asimov)
  • When in doubt, do the right thing…the rest of the time, get away with whatever you can. (Some Louisiana governor who probably died in federal prison)
  • Spontaneity has a time and place. (Woody Allen)
  • Veritas liberabit vos. In Vino veritas. Ergo, vino liberabit vos. The truth will set you free. In wine, truth. Therefore, wine will set you free. (Me, just now, trying to be clever in Latin).
Happy Spring, everyone!

A. Dear people of Liza Land,
May the rain fall softly on you, may the breezes treat you gently, may your NCAA tournament brackets keep clean, may your Lenten sacrifices bear fruit, may the books you read take you to fascinating places, may the roads you travel carry you safely and may your days give you reason to think, feel and laugh.

A. My desire at this moment is to thank Miss Liza for providing a venue for “Free Expression” and Comment.  Very often I have given her the option of not running my comment because of its controversial material, length (as you know I can be verbose at times) or just plain stupidity.  She has always been open and given me free reign!

Further, I am honored to be paneled among 4 very erudite, handsome and delightful gentleman of considerable talent!

Last but certainly not least, I treasure you, dear Readers, who keep this panel alive and well!

Enjoy the madness of March.  I’ll raise one in your honor, St. Patrick’s Day.
Slainte’ – Till we meet again!

A. I have been blessed, I have a loving family, good friends, a great job and been to the far side of the Moon and the near side of the Sun

In the recent distant pass I worked for a great Native American Insurance Company that had some outstanding people, programs and services for Native communities across the America

I traveled many a mile to Native Community with my dog and pony show and Lewis’s doll house spreading the word of Fire Safety and Fire Prevention a message dear to my heart

For fire can be a beneficial and convenient servant when used wisely or a terrible master causing death and destruction if used carelessly

Upon my last travel / trip to distant states to bequeath my message and be graced by the presences of Native elders, tribal leaders, families and children

The following is a traveling e-mail correspondence between me and my good Diné/Navajo friend Patrick M.

**********

Patrick

When you told me to visit Monument Valley (Navajo Nation / North East Arizona)

Little did I know that you had given me a blessing to be honored to be among Red Giant

who tolerated my presence as they did the ants living at their base

I drove 350 miles from Utah and did not think I would be there before dark

The blessings were on me for I arrived as the sun was setting its shine down on them

The majestic Red Giant aglow in their glory in reverence to the Sun and the One

Just for me I believed, but alas there are others so I share,

My eyes were full, my heart filled, my head hurt

The Creator seems to favor the color Red as my journey across this magnificent land bestows me

Whatever comes when I get home

(Before this trip I had words/troubles with my boss and not long after I told him to “Go *#*^” himself and quit this job I loved)

I had a great time, met great people and saw much beauty upon the earth

The earth will continue as it has done for eons and eons

The beauty we are awed by is no more than a day’s work for the One,

The Giants tell us so

Come, look, smile, sing, live and die

Our lives matter little, to the earth, the sun, the stars for they are greater than I

It is only the people who we love and are loved by that makes our journey

On this earth the adventure we make of it

Lewis

**********

Lewis

“Come, look, smile, sing, live and die”

The Navajo wake up before dawn to make sure to greet the Sun..Father Sun

We make offerings in the morning in the form of corn pollen so that our prayers for a good day are heard

The corn stalk is a good metaphor for your quote I took out of your nice e-mail

It was one of the nicest e-mails I’ve received in a long time

We can sure get caught up in our little lives…”oh I need to make more money, Oh if I Just

had more cash then I’d get to buy this or that”

But like you stated you were touched by the Red Giants

You could have missed out getting to see them at dusk a magic time

“Oh, I’m tired of driving, Oh, I’m hungry and need to eat first,

Oh, I’ve got to write up those reports

Beauty can sure have a big effect on our lives

Like an ancient Navajo chant says:

Beauty before me,

Beauty behind me,

Beauty below me,

Beauty above me,

Beauty all around me,

It shall be,

It is done,

I’m glad you took the effort to see Navajo county,

I forgot to tell you to rub some of that red earth over yourself

for that is where all “five fingered people” come from

Best

Patrick

*********

May you all have the honor to walk among Red Giants

and have their blessing of Beauty upon you

L

Holy moly! You are all amazing! I loved those responses! You’re seriously the most awesome Panel of Experts ever. Thank you so much for being here, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate it very much!

Readers, if you have questions or comments for our Experts, please let us know. You can email questions to me, or leave responses in the comments section. I’m sure the Experts would love to know your thoughts.

Experts, again, thank you very much.

The Experts will be on break for awhile, but I won’t be. I’ll be coming to you with plant puzzlers in the Experts’ absence.

We’ll get started with the current puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if these Anthuriums were real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “Real, but it took me a long time to decide. (Turning photos sideways is cheating, Liza.)”

Oopsies! I didn’t mean to post that sideways – I fixed it! (Although, I’m not totally opposed to cheating sometimes if it means I can trick you guys, haha!)

Joseph Brenner wrote, “Must be why it looks so real to me.(B>{D=”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Real. I’m trying to think of something clever to say…. um… nope. I got nothin’”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “This looks real to me. The leaves are quite shiny and young looking.”

Liz from Jemez, New Mexico, wrote, “Real!”

That’s five votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

They’re real! And surprisingly handsome considering they were for sale at Ikea in Denver. (I would’ve thought they’d be beaten up and bruised by all the shopping traffic.) Even if they were bruised, they’d still be prettier than fake plants.

Great job everyone – you all nailed it!

mr_subjunctive, you were the first with the correct answer, which makes you the best answerer. Congratulations! For being so speedy, this week you’ve earned the following epithet: Friend of Anthuriums, badadadadum, Foe of Scale, badeedeedeedee, Fierce Individual, badododododo, Fiendishly Handsome, babumbumbumbum, Fantastically Intelligent, baboodoodooboo, Fortunately Talented, bedingdangdungdoo, Fabulously Grandest Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond, bababababadaaaaaaannnnnnnggggggg! Well played! You may multiply all the prizes by spring flowers. And because you guessed the puzzler correctly when the photo was sideways, you’ve also won an all-expenses paid vacation to Awesomeville. Congrats again, you winner you!

Everyone’s a winner – nicely done! To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like you each to have the following prizes: One March to a different drummer, four sock puppets, 16 1/3 bonus points, a spring rain, unabashed gushing, three voluminous thank yous, paprika, six everlasting gobstoppers, 14 more points, a movie, five t-shirts, patio furniture, 11 major rewards, green chile stew, one burquenos moment, two radishes, a coupon good for half off, precious love, a scoop of purple, extra storage, one time change (redeemable this weekend only), and seven hunky dories. Congrats, and thanks so much for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

This new puzzler is courtesy of my longtime friend Cydney Pair, of Bloomington, Indiana. Cyd asks, is this plant real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, March 13th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) next week. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

