Hey look, pretty blossoms!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, plum tree blossoms

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, plum tree blossoms

Sooooooo…ya know how I usually do Quirky Burque posts on Saturdays? Where I post photos of weird things here in Albuquerque? Yeah, Ima gonna have to change that.

It turns out there’s some animosity amongst the locals about the nickname Burque. The annoyance probably wouldn’t have boiled to the surface, except that there’s this jerky dude on Facebook who has co-opted the nickname, and now lots of people publicly hate it. Burque had been an affectionate term used by long-time residents of Albuquerque…it has evolved to hipster-speak, which of course, the natives don’t appreciate. Especially if it’s pronounced without rolling the R. (Which is how I pronounce it to rhyme with quirky, you know, because I’m from Indiana and not Albuquerque.)

I don’t know this fella on Facebook personally, but the stuff he does on his page – stealing photos and putting his own watermarks on them, deleting comments when people call him on it, speaking for all New Mexicans, creating drama, insulting people and so on – is fairly well documented douchebaggery behavior. The last thing I want is to be associated with his douchebaggery behavior. He ruined the name for the rest of us.

So no more Burque.

I could simply change Saturday posts to Quirky Albuquerque or something similar. Or I could start an unrelated segment. I thought I’d ask you what you thought first. If everyone enjoys seeing glimpses into our Wild West city, I can still do that. But if there’s not a lot of interest, I’d rather find something else to post.

What do you think?

While I wait to hear from you, I hope you enjoy the plum tree flowers on this overcast day in the Southwest!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, plum tree blossoms

