Hello summerteers, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Yay for Friday! We’ve been waiting patiently all week for your arrival. Thank you for finally getting here. Friday is the day we roll out our Panel of Experts, and our puzzler fun. Let’s get the festivities started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

This week’s question is pretty straightforward, and because I was curious. Here it is:

Q. What scares you?

Expert Andy, you’re up first as usual:

A. Hello again, from China.  On my way home today.  Yeah!!!  Onward….

What scares me is being in the woods alone, on the way to the outhouse in the middle of the night in the Canadian wilderness on our own fishing island.
And coming across a rattlesnake on my many adventures in the Arizona desert or high country.
And getting on a plane in China or Taiwan, for a 13 hr. journey at 33,000 feet, across a large body of water, part of which is within missile distance of a nut job North Korean dictator.
And the ire of an angry woman.

A. Everything. Absolutely everything. Here is a short list: failure, success, heights, rabid dogs, enclosed spaces, drowning, loss of my mental faculties, earthquakes, dying young, living too long, and about 42 assorted fears specifically for my daughter.

I could go on…which also scares me.

A. I fear a phone call in the middle of the night, losing an appreciation of words, not enough sleep, too much sleep, forgetting certain faces, not being able to laugh.

———Expert Dottie is off celebrating her birthday so she’s not available this week. Let’s admire her adorableness:

And move on to Expert Lewis. Lewis, what say you, fine sir?

A.

What scares you?

Nothing and everything, As a young child death visited my family several times, I did not understand but they never came back

So dying was not something I feared, several time God has watched over this fool’s follies and little children

 

I do not walk with my head covered because the sky is falling, the sky is falling,

But I do look to the sky for strange large objects that should not be there

There are places in our country  where people do fear the sky

For monster come from it and have no mercy as they churn the earth

These monster do hold a great pucker factor in my life,

I lived under that sky and have walked, aided and awed at the power that caused the churned earth

I did not like it

Now I live under Red Sky’s that are not as angry,

Here we have rushing water that should be respected and given a wide berth but not feared

 

You know fear and anger are brothers they are almost always together when someone needs them least

I had a great fit of madness between my oldest son and me

Something stupid said caused my careful image of self-discipline, self-control, my shiny armor came apart

Leaving a screaming lunatic ranting and raging at the world,

My son was just the trigger

I was angry at his stupid words for they were a challenge to my order

I was angry at myself for my loss of self-control, I’m usually so cool, calm and collected

I was angry at not having more hair, less girth, deeper pockets

I was angry at the Republicans for being so stupid

I was angry at the Democrats’ for being just as stupid

I was angry at the unfairness in the world, the greedy, low or no morals, the politicians,

who work for they own cause and to hell with the rest of us

I was angry at the lawyers who have sold their soul to  the demons

I was angry at the demons who cast they nets wide and all of the fools within

I was angry at the homeless, why do they wonder the streets have not I given them enough

I was angry at the druggie, alcoholics, dopers and smokers and their damn cigarette butts

I was angry at the young woman crossing the street with her white cane,

I may not have her courage and fortitude as she made her way

I was angry that children, elderly and animals suffer at the hands of those who should be loving them

I was angry that I cannot fix some problems

I went home and stewed in my self-pity for an hour or two more

Woo is me,

 

I am blessed God gave me another morning another day, I left the anger in yesterday

The problems still are there, I went to my son and said I’m sorry for my being an ass

He said ditto, we gave each other a hug, said I love you

For family helps hold the fear at bay

Next time I will know my armor has some rust a crack or two, I’ll step back from the edge

Smile at the Red Sky

 

Those are remarkable answers, everyone. Thank you for sharing. It’s a question that shows your vulnerabilities, so I appreciate the honest feedback. The world can be a big scary place! Things like phone calls in the night, the loss of our minds and anger are hard – our fears are valid. But I agree with Lewis – love helps. It’s important not to walk around in fear, but to focus on the more loving aspects of life.

Thanks fellas, again for sharing. I enjoyed reading your thoughts.

Readers, I’ll pose the question to you, too – what scares you? Use the comments section to share your fears. I’d be interested to hear them.

That’ll do it for this week’s Panel of Experts. The Experts will return next Friday for one more panel before breaking for the Labor Day weekend. They look forward to seeing you back here.

Ok, now let’s move on to the current puzzler.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Ocotillo plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “A real live ocotillo! Way cool.”

Joseph Brenner from Texas wrote, “Real ocotillo. Real agave. Really gorgeous!!(B>{D}”

That’s two votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s take a wider look:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

It is real! And it’s beautiful! I love Ocotillos – they’re so interesting. And they have these funky orange blooms in the early summer (obviously this one isn’t blooming now, I just took this photo a couple of weeks ago, well past its bloom time). Real plants are always prettier than fake ones.

Well done, guys! You nailed it. Not surprising at all!

To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like to award you each the following prizes: Several more August nights, one scenic byway, a queen-sized bed, 27 purrs, Placitas, the edge off, 14 northern lights, 15 southern nights, one baby moose, seven shooting stars, nine bonus points, Donna, your own personal choir, six touchdowns, 11 stripes, three fiestas, one spare earlobe, less fear, salted caramel ice cream, a vacation to yesterday, one coffee table, a bouquet of white roses, four peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, one manicure, a plate of french fries, one bronze statue in your likeness, red curtains, 13 more points, a denim jacket, one round of applause, and my hearty thanks.

Congratulations! Thanks so much for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, August 28th, to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

Thanks so much for reading this post!

