Hello laborers, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Yay for the Friday before a long weekend – we welcome your arrival! Now that it’s Friday, we can finally get to our Ask the Experts Panel, and to our plant puzzler. It’ll be good times! Let’s get the festivities started by saying hi to our Experts. Hi everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

The Experts are going to be taking a break for the next couple of weeks. Before they leave, I decided to ask them the following question:

Q. What moves you?

Expert Andy Williams, you’re up first, fine sir:

A. I am moved by innocent children learning new things.  I am always amazed by kids and how fast they learn, and then seeing them put what they learn to practice is one of the most moving experiences one could ask for.  This happens when I coach and it is invigorating.  Then I am moved again at the end of the season when I need to say “goodbye” to them, knowing that they may take a little of what they have learned with them all of their lives, and remember me as a part of it.  Honestly, I just don’t know how teachers do it.  Each year they bring in a new crop, teach them from day 1 to the last day of school, and then have to let them fly away and onto the next year.

I am also moved by kind words and affirmation directed my way.  I guess I’ve never been one to accept accolades or criticism very well.  I don’t know why that is.  But it moves me.

I am moved by my best friend Darren coming over to my house while I was away on my birthday, taking my gate apart, and welding on a new latch that had been broken for 6 months; as my birthday present.

I am moved by the rewards of hard work; for anyone else as well as myself.

I am moved by “Back Home Again in Indiana” before the Indy 500 every year.

I am moved by the Constitution of the United States of America and the Declaration of Independence. Give them both a read and try to make an honest assessment of where we are now and how those wise men would feel about it.

A. There is a wide range of things, depending on my ever-changing level of emotional stability. One day, a car full of puppies running into a truck full of kittens right in front of me wouldn’t budge me an inch emotionally; the next day, a sappy tissue commercial could have me nearly in tears. 

Jesus, I have issues and should seek help and/or medication.

A. Generous acts. Simple acts. Acts of sacrifice. The sudden arrival of the sun after a long hard rain. Words written by N. Scott Momaday and Alice Walker. Songs with lonely voices. Acting by actors surprised by the honesty of the moment. A mother and her infant. Love found, lost, then remembered. Embraces. Soft kisses. Hymns sung in grand cathedrals. Prayers whispered. A single tear.

A. It is difficult to select to one event or thing that moves me the most. I could site untold numbers of beautiful moments or events: the hush of an early morning with only the birds voices breaking the silence, a misty walk in the softly falling rain on a warm summer night, my children’s births, my mother’s face , my children’s jubilation when they have accomplished a goal in their life, the golden tenor voice of my beloved husband Ted or his delightful “chicken dance”, the surround and support of dear friends, and on and on. However, what I do believe what touches me the most is “kindness,” just old fashioned caring . It so touches my heart to see someone demonstrating “kindness” in their relationship to anyone – man or animal – known to them or not.  If Kindness were to return to be paramount in each persons demeanor, the whole World would heal !

HAPPY HOLIDAY EVERYONE!!!

A. Well one time I had this green chile stew and it was so good I ate way too much and that moved me, in fact it moved me several times. And then another time on this road trip driving thru  Montana where this area grew these big beautiful purple cherry and they were ripe and I bought a big boxes for three dollars and they were delicious, so sweet and juicy, oh were they good, heaven sent, ate’em by the handfuls almost the whole box. About two hours late driving down the road, BOY did they move me too almost didn’t get the car stopped in time and lucky there was some bushes close by and we’ll leave it at that. So yeah I’ve been moved.

What else moves me, my love of my family and friends, my passion for my job of keeping people safe from fire, flood or disaster and writing foolish twit.

I love to travel and we, my love and me are driving to visit family in Missoula Montana, for two weeks, Tim has come here to visit several times now we are going there. Maybe I’ll be lucky and the cherry await to move me again.

Enjoy be safe, till we meet again

Ahhhh, this is why I love you Experts so much! You’re adorable, you’re funny, you’re charming! I really enjoyed your answers. Your participation here moves me more than you know! Thank you so much to each of you!

Readers, I welcome you to weigh in with what moves you, too. Do you agree with the Experts? They’d love to hear from you! Leave your thoughts in the comments section.

That’ll do it for this week’s Panel of Experts. Thanks again for being here, everyone.

Up next, the answer to last week’s puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Synadenium plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

mr_subjunctive of the Plants Are the Strangest People site wrote, “Real. And there’s something kind of familiar about it. . . .”

Ivynettle from the Letters and Leaves site wrote, “Fake, fake, fake!
Wow, it’s been long since I’ve played.”

Then she added, “Or, wait… looking closer, it actually looks real. Am I this out of practise? Maybe you should just disregard my post… *blushes and hides*”

Joseph Brenner of Texas wrote, “Real…ly Fake! Unless you mean the dracaena in the background.(B>{D)”

Hmmmm…that’s one vote real, one vote fake, and one vote for both!

What’s the correct answer?

Maybe a wider view will help:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Real! And really pretty! You can tell they’re real plants because real plants have flaws, just like people. Fake plants are designed to look perfect, which I find makes them look ugly. I’ll take flaws any day!

The reason the plant looked familiar to mr_s is because he sent me cuttings a few years ago. I’ve propagated them like crazy, and now they’re all over town at various client offices of mine. I love them! I think they’re gorgeous, and they obviously grow well. Thanks, mr_subjunctive!

Everyone’s a winner today! Congratulations! To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like you each to have the following prizes: One holiday weekend, three grilled cheese sandwiches, five compliments, two new dance moves, 14 1/2 bonus points, valle de oro, a blue cardigan sweater, perspective, one bronze trophy, your own personal rainbow, one coupon good for a trip down memory lane, a bayou, four paintbrushes, six accolades, Greg, 11 more points, a spare kneecap, two Sheboygans, extra kindness, three baby iguanas, new kitchen cabinets, purple, a seal of approval, excessive praise, six fritters, four hugs, one promotion, a ski lift, five constellations, and a package of bratwurst.

Congrats again, and thanks for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler. Warning – it may be tricky!

???Real or Fake???

Are these plants real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, September 4th, to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) next Friday. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

