Not the whole family, of course.

I have such a sense of accomplishment with this foyer!

A few days ago, it looked like this:

Holy clutter, batman!

The reason I’m so obsessed with cleaning is that it gives me the illusion of control. Life is hard – I could get hit by a bus and die tomorrow – but at least I can keep my dishes clean.

I’m going to be traveling the next few days, and everyone knows you have no control on an airplane. But at least my foyer plants at home will be nice and tidy, because that I can control.

I take great comfort in cleaning because it becomes about little victories for me. Take that, dust! See ya later, grime!

Do I like cleaning? No. But I like how I feel after I’ve cleaned. That goes for everything – I don’t really like grocery shopping, but I like having food in the fridge. I don’t really like laundry, but I like clean clothes. The reward is worth the effort.

I didn’t enjoy hauling the plants outside for their semiannual hosedown:

But I love how happy and healthy everyone is now, and how clean the foyer is.

What about you? Are you proud of yourself for any big projects or little victories? What should you give yourself a pat on the back for?

