Hello moonbeamaroonies, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Ah, Fridays. We love Fridays. Today has been a busy, awesome one for me (vacation!!!!), so I’m sorry that I’m just now publishing this Experts Panel for you. Thanks for your patience.

After the panel, I’ll have the answer to last week’s plant puzzler, as well as a new puzzler for you.

Let’s get our Friday fun started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

Look at your sunflower adorableness! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

We’re always looking out for our readers on this site, so this week, I asked the Experts the following question:

Q. Where’s a good fall getaway?

Continuing with our new format, we’ll start with Andy and continue with back-to-back answers from the rest of the Experts. Andy, start us off, will ya?

A. There are sooooo many Fall getaways that come to mind, but my all time favorite has to be Kauai.  No changing maples, aspens or oaks….just the cadence of waves against sand and volcanic rock and the joys of the coolest place on the planet, Hanalei.  If you ever find yourself on this island, visit Hanalei.  It is where at least some of my ashes shall be strewn when I grow too old, tired or sick to continue in my present form.  Every year, I venture off to Kauai to celebrate life, love and the pursuit of happiness.

Close seconds would be a Colts game (check), Brown County, IN, and Flagstaff (check).  So, there are four of God’s great places for y’all to choose from!

Live on!

A. Mexico is good fall getaway…spring, summer, and winter, too, for that matter. If you’re like me, anywhere you can lay in the sand and have cocktails brought to you is an all-season win!! Ixtapa, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun, it doesn’t matter exactly where, you can’t go wrong with Mexico!

A. There are small canyons where old waters cut through even older patches of land, where mountains, some blue and others gray, sit miles away. There are cottonwoods and their leaves go from green to gold to brown as the air cools then turns cold. There are songs in the air just before the sun shows itself, then again before it rests. Fall is where you find it.

A. Short and bittersweet this week.  I want to pay a tribute to my very favorite balladeer, a beautiful, voice that has been silenced but never forgotten.

My children grew up with Andy Williams’ weekly shows and beautiful Christmas specials.  I was fortunate to have last seen Andy in Branson in his Moon River Theater two years ago.  Although an Octogenarian, he delivered a marvelous show in his very unique and entertaining manner.  Bravo! Andy for providing years of musical delight.  Now Sing with the Angels!

A. (Lewis is unavailable this week – waaaaaahhh!!!)

Excellent suggestions, everyone, thank you!

In case there was any confusion, the Andy Williams that Expert Dottie was paying tribute to is the singer and not our own Expert Andy Williams. Thankfully!

I think those are great suggestions for our readers. And nice words from you, Dottie. You Experts continually amaze me. It’s awesome that you’re here – I’m delighted to have you.

For participating this week, I’d like to thank you with the following prizes: One heroic swashbuckler, a fall getaway next spring, naturally flavored cream cheese, an A+, four tickets, 13 bonus points, your own personal harvest moon (redeemable Saturday), one weekend in Fallbuquerque, a spotted pony, two tablespoons, and a rewarding round of applause. Congratulations, and thanks again for being here.

That does it for this week’s Panel of Experts. The Experts will return in exactly one week. They hope to see you here.

Now let’s move on to last week’s plant puzzler.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Caladium plant was real or fake:

Let’s see how you answered:

Ivynettle of Letters and Leaves wrote, “I’ll say real. (And I can no longer even go grocery shopping without seeing blue and neon orange orchids. Ugh.)”

Charlie Hebert wrote, “I’ll say Real.. but dont go by me.. Lately, I couldn’t guess where my butt is.. with two hands and a Map!”

Dave wrote, “Hi, everyone! In answer to your question, I’d have to say, ‘real’. It looks like a hybrid caladium, so in all honesty, it hasn’t been created by nature, but by a hybridizer. But it’s still real.”

Erica wrote, “Just found this site a few days ago. It’s a great way to indulge my plant hobby. I’m going to guess that the plant is real. No idea what it is, though.”

Mary wrote, “Have to say real!”

Lauren from The Beauty Is in the Dirt wrote, “Very real.”

That’s five votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Usually, I have an extra photo to prove whether the plant is real or fake, but this week, that photo turned out to be super blurry. So you’ll just have to trust me when I say it was very real, and very pretty.

Fake plants rarely have those vibrant colors and interesting leaves. Most fake plants are ugly, expensive and only collect dust. But a pretty Caladium can make any patio container look gorgeous. Here in Virginia, where I’m visiting for a wedding, I’ve been wowed by enormous Caladiums growing all over the place. You don’t usually see them grow that big in New Mexico. If I get a chance, I’ll totally take some photos because they are impressive creatures.

Anyway. You guys rocked that puzzler – good job!

Ivy, you were first with a correct answer, so that makes you the best answerer. This week, we’re going to award you a simple but effective title, which is “Ivynettle the Impressively Swift.” Be sure to tell all your friends of your new title – they won’t be jealous at all. Also, please feel free to multiply all the prizes by six yellow trombones for your effort. Congrats, and thanks for playing.

You’re all winners, so for playing this week, I’d like you each to have the following prizes: Three moon-shaped lollipops, a fall retreat into summer, 14 bragging rights, five and a half numbers, two slender goats, one heeeeeeeeeyyyyy, Vitamin B, an imaginary vacation to Halloweenisville, more bang for your buck, and pretzels.

Congrats, and thank you everyone for playing.

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake?

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight next Thursday, October 4th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

