Hello Presidents and Scholars, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Every Friday I gather my esteemed Panel of Experts and we talk. They’re each wonderful in their own way, and as a whole, they’re a bunch of charmers.

After the Panel, I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) for last week’s puzzler. I’ll also have a new puzzle for you.

Let’s get our Friday fun started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi ya’ll!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re so cute with your sunflowerness! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Since we’re knee-deep in election year politics, I decided to ask the Experts the following question:

Q. Is there a plant, indoor or out, that you think has Presidential qualities? If so, what is it and why?

Expert Andy will start us off. It’s your platform, fine sir:

A.  My “Presidential qualities” and what America thinks are two dramatically different things.  But there IS an interesting parallel between our U.S. government elected officials and plants.  Plants survive because of the survival of the fittest.  Those that are most adaptive to their environments thrive, especially in the outdoors.  And they tower over all of their competitors (other plants) to do so, not giving a damn about what helps them get there such as the soil, water, fertilizer, etc….  Actually fertilizer is probably more comparable to politicians than plants, but I don’t want to go there.

All this reminds me of the song “Trees” by Rush.  If you haven’t heard that in a while pull it out of your vinyl or CD collection and take a listen.  It is a timeless masterpiece in that it compares the forest to what is going on in the world.  When you listen this time, you will realize that nothing has changed much in 34 years when the song was written.  It is all about getting ahead and not really caring about how others are getting by.  Actually, politicians claim to care, but they only care about what is going to get them elected in 2, 4 or 6 years from now.  And people are always clamoring about “term limits”.  I argue against that every time.  Why?  Because “term limits” happen during every election.  If you don’t like the arrogant, self-serving asshole that is in office now, vote them out.  That is the definition of a true term limit.  Are you with me readers?!?!?!

Sorry for the political rant, but in particular I believe the government should be run like a non-profit.  Non-profits that don’t get donors or spend too much for their cause go under.  That is OUR government today.  It is going under, again.  It is that way because we spend more than we bring in.  Two ways to solve that problem: bring in more or spend less.  It is high time we do both or else we are going to the the United States of China in about 20 years.  And the yahoos that we vote for are making it that way.  Wake up America…the world is eating our lunch, just like we ate the world’s lunch from about 1946 to 1999 and during the Industrial Revolution.  So I want an America and a leader of America who is a smart, considerate and strong businessman who is looking out for his “charity”, the Americans.  Screw the rest of the world, I say, because our Constitution doesn’t govern them, it governs us.  How many ridiculous things are we involved with outside of our borders that take away from our problems here?  That’s right, TRILLION$!  Does the CEO of the Red Cross care about what is happening at the Boys and Girls Clubs of America?  or the American Cancer Society?

Sorry I don’t have any plants that fit the Presidential profile.  And I don’t have any past, present or future Presidents that do the job that plants do in creating oxygen, food, and the variations of byproducts that keep us healthy.  I am up to my eyebrows in their fertilizer though.

A. I suppose the Elm tree seems sufficiently majestic to be presidential, but I really don’t know. We lay so much on our candidates that it’s impossible to pick a single plant.

A. The great cactus would make a remarkable candidate. It has a a skin tough enough to handle the stark heat. It has deep roots to weather the winds of change. It is hard to touch and occasionally blossoms.

A. Researching, Qualities one looks for in a President
Proved to be fascinating.  For instance, Michael Beschloss, author & renowned political analyst, wrote 1.“It is more true now than ever—given what the current Congress is like—it is very helpful if you have a President who almost chemically & biologically wants to form friendships on Capitol Hill”!  2.“Making tough decisions although they may be unpopular.  —- 3. Imbued with compassion and the ability to understand why people with radically different beliefs share a particular perspective.  4. The ability to cooperate and compromise with those that disagree. 5.  The ability to relate current political decisions to historical decisions and more importantly: remember how it affected the nation.
Finally #5.  A comprehension of simple arithmetic.

The selection is obvious to me and self evident:  Females have developed all the above qualities Ever since Adam went rogue and ate that damn Apple!  Therefore I submit the following qualified candidates:

Peace “Lily”, Calla “Lily” (a southern touch), Daisy ( so down to earth & can equate & appealing to all), Heather, Iris, Casablanca “Lily” (Hubba, Hubba –maybe a little too Clintonish), Queen Ann’s Lace, Star Gazer “Lily” –(um maybe not so much), Violet ( a classy quiet persuader) and last but no way least: Our beloved Pansy!

Everyone a winner!  I rest my case!

DO YOURSELF AND THE COUNTRY A FAVOR,
PLEASE EXERCISE YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE!!!!

A. Like always I go back to the good old ROSE, be it Red, White and Blue. Do you give your love a bouquet of begonia’s, and if you’re cheap it could be carnations.
No you give roses because roses are the best, they stand tall, have much beauty and treat us with a scent we never forget and represent the love we have for each other.

When we celebrate our love for or mourn the lost of a love one we place a rose upon their grave and shed a tear.

I’ve placed a rose upon many a grave with honor, be it my dear Mother, or my beloved cousin Joey.  Remember the rose is the only flower worthy of our Lady of Guadalupe and the scent of rose greet you at the Gates of Heaven.

So please vote for the best the Red, the White and the Blue Roses and while your at it help get out the vote and keep moving Forward. Now I do believe that we should give the whole damn bunch of Washington politician a good swift kick in the ass and that includes the Supreme Court fools who have sold out their souls and our trust. Then lets round up all the lobbyist, special interest groups and other scumbags and run their asses out of town too.

When I awaken every morning I look to the rising sun and thank my God for another day, my garden greets my eyes, my flowers say I’m special too and so they be.

I wish you good day, our sky are filed with balloons even though several days have had to much wind for them to fly.

If you drive give the next bicyclist you go by room on the road we don’t like to bleed needlessly.
Go Roses

Pss   Do you know he’s killed 8 of the 10 roses bushes in his yard, he might love roses but he don’t know shit about them, pass it on.

Interesting, interesting answers. Good job to all of you! Nicely played.

I appreciate you being here, so I’d like to give you the following prizes for being so awesome: A boutique physique, three knitted gloves, a platter of candied fruit, two rolls of the dice, one tiny dancer, four belly buttons, a coupon good for a future trip to the International Space Station, and my Presidential Seal of Approval.

I’d also like you each to use the following epithet for the weekend: So Impressive Maybe I Should Run for Presidentialness. So for example, Andy if you’re at a ballgame this weekend and decide to introduce yourself to the people sitting nearby, you should say, “Hi, I’m Andy Williams So Impressive Maybe I Should Run for Presidentialness.” It could be the start of a lifelong bond.

Congrats to all of you, and thank you again for being here.

The Experts have a break next Friday but will return two Fridays from now, on the 26th. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, the answer to last week’s puzzler.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this flower was real or fake:

Let’s see how you answered:

Marble Madness wrote, “Fake, I think I detect some frayed edges to the petals. Real ones are smoother.”

Charlie Hebert wrote, “Thank you for the title Liza.. used it today. Called my usual Fish&Chip place and said, “Hi, this is Charlie the Prettiest and Swiftest.. can you throw on my regular order?” They said “No.”, and hung up… Thanks L!
Oh yeah, the flower thing.. How about Real? Alotta nature going on there..”

Dave wrote, “Fakey-fake.”

Alissa wrote, “Fake”

Joseph Brenner wrote, “The fakest of the fake.”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “fake. Hideously fake. Annoyingly atificial. Disturbingly false.

sorry, I’m using the computer at the library and being surrounded by books has turned me all wordy.”

David the Desert Dweller wrote, “Fake / faux.”

Haha, you guys are hilarious.

That’s six votes fake, one vote real.

What’s the correct answer?

Maybe a wider view will help:

Fake! They’re made of fabric. I saw these at the dollar store. I really can’t see spending a whole dollar on them. They’re so ugly!

So Marble Madness, you were first with the correct answer, so that makes you the best answerer. For your speedy ways, you’ve earned the title of The Premier, Prime, Most Cooperative, Fastest, Swiftest Grand Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond. Congratulations! You may multiply all the prizes by ribbon.

Everyone who played is a winner today. Thanks so much for participating. I’d like to thank you by awarding you the following prizes: A President’s Welcome, three winds, six munchkins, pudding, an imaginary vacation to the White House, two shoulders, a five fingered salute, music, a round of applause and four notions.

Congrats all of you, and thanks again for playing.

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake?

Tough one this week. Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, October 18th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back Monday, hope to see you here.

