Hello pumpkins, and happy Friday. Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Wow, that was a fun week off. All my brothers and sisters (there are five of us) came to visit, and with kids, spouses and Mom, there were 14 of us running around New Mexico. It was a hoot. Thanks for your patience with me taking time off from the blog.

I gave the Experts the week off because I knew I’d be having too much fun with family to worry about the blog, so today, we’ll just have puzzler action for you.

Without further ado, let’s get to last week’s puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this plant was real or fake:

Not that easy to tell with that angle and my point-n-shoot camera.

Let’s see how you answered:

Alissa wrote, “looks real to me”

Charlie Hebert wrote, “Well now that I put my glasses on, I can See how I was The Only One to get it wrong! :-)
This week… Fake!”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “I vote real. Is it a banana or a canna? Lets go with banana….”

That’s two votes real, one vote fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s see a wider angle:

Real!

I took the close-up of this Strelitzia plant, or Bird of Paradise (which looks very similar to banana and canna plants), at a local plant nursery a few months ago. I was trying to trick you by not getting any brown or torn edges on the leaves in the photo. It didn’t work, you guys are too smart.

Alissa, you are the bomdiddybombom this week, because you were the first with a correct answer. That earns you the title of “Ooh, ooh, I’m so speedy and you’re not” for the rest of the week. Congrats! You may multiply all the prizes by five lipsmacks. Good job!

You’re all winners in my book. I’m impressed that you guessed at all, given how tricky the photo was. So thank you for that. I’d like to show you my gratitude by awarding you the following prizes: Six angel hugs, 14 bragging rights, three high fives, 11 extra credit points, one quesadilla with sour cream, an affectionate seahorse, two tickets to paradise, a pretend day, four pomegranates, one more minute, and a toodaloo. Congratulations!

Thanks to all of you for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Are these flowers real or fake?

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, October 25th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back manana, hope to see you here.

