I hear a lot of garden bloggers bemoan this time of year, when their outdoor gardens are winding down for the season. I understand that – it’s sad to see your time outside come to an end.

What I don’t understand is why more outdoor gardeners don’t also share a love of indoor gardening. Fall and winter is when many of my houseplants start to shine with their blooms.

Like the Schlumbergeras, for example:

I love their bright splashes of color in my foyer.

Maybe the outdoor gardeners are intimidated by indoor houseplants. Which would make sense because at least the outdoor gardens get help occasionally from Mother Nature (rain, cloudy days), whereas the indoor plants are 100% dependent on human care. They can be a lot of work, and I do get why some people wouldn’t want to take that on.

But maybe they simply don’t know about the rewards of that work.

The Christmas Cactuses don’t require any more work than the rest of the houseplants. Give them good draining soil, a little fertilizer and a sunny spot, and they’ll bloom for you year after year.

Last year, the plant I call Crissy started blooming on October 20th. This year, Easter’s in the lead with her blooms opening on the 21st:

Crissy’s not far behind with her blooms:

(Crissy has the pink buds.)

They should bloom consistently from now until sometime in the new year. What’s not to love about that?

What about you? Do you have favorite indoor bloomers who sustain you when your outdoor garden fades to brown? Lemme know about them in the comments section, if you feel like it.

I’ll be back manana, hope to see you here.

