My Experts have the week off for the holiday, so today we’re just doing plant puzzlers.

Up first, the answer to last week’s puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this cactus was real or fake:

Let’s see how you answered:

Tom from the Midwestern Jungle wrote, “Fake!”

Then he added, “And might I add that that is the least inspiring landscape ever.”

Alissa from South Dakota wrote, “I will be shocked if that is real, though I can not say I spend a lot of time around cacti. Fake. Happy Thanksgiving! <3”

David from the Desert’s Edge wrote, “Very fake, sunflower-head! (even someone with only 9 house plants knows that :)

Charlie Hebert wrote, “Real steel, maybe real plastic, but Fake plant!
Happy Thanksgiving Liza and other Plant peeps! :-)

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “Hahaha…thanks for the (funny) title for being the first one to answer last week! For this week, I say fake. And I ask “WHY?!” Why on earth would anyone do that?

Happy Thanksgiving, Liza!”

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Laughably fake!”

Thanks for all the holiday greetings! I hope you all had a nice Thanksgiving, as well.

That’s seven votes fake, zero votes real. What’s the correct answer?

Fake!

I didn’t even bother taking a second photo with my phone because the one above was so obviously fake.

If it were a real Saguaro cactus, it wouldn’t be shiny, for one thing. And it wouldn’t be growing in Albuquerque – Saguaros grow in the Sonoran desert, which means Arizona, California and Mexico, not New Mexico.

Why anyone would decorate their yard with a fake cactus instead of planting a real one is beyond me. The real ones are so much more interesting looking and attractive.

But then, I’ll probably never understand the appeal of fake plants over real ones.

Tom, you were first with the correct answer! The first answerer is the best answerer. For being so speedy this week, you’ve earned the title of Premier Plant Puzzler Ponderer Proud Plant Parent Prettiest Picturesque Person of Plant Blogs in Chicago, the Midwest and All the Land. Congratulations! You may multiply all the prizes by lemon pound cake.

I appreciate all of you who played, so I’d like to award you the following prizes: Desert moonlight, three Saguaro-shaped cupcakes, 14 bragging rights, leftover turkey, one soft cactus, 17 extra credit points, four scoops of cactus-flavored ice cream, one bouquet of Saguaro flowers, two desert moments and a hearty round of applause. Congrats, and thanks for playing.

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this Sansevieria ‘Snake plant’ real or fake?

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, November 29th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

