Because I’m a neatfreak…

This crap had to go on a recent warm afternoon.

Most of it, anyway. The Gaillardia still had an awful lot of green for a plant that was supposedly zapped by the frost:

Most of the flowers were frost-bitten but surprisingly there were lots of new flower buds. Apparently the Blanket Flowers aren’t ready for dormancy.

There were other surprises, too.

Like the sickly parsley plants I found once I cleared out the basil:

It’s hard to believe they could hold on in the shadow of the monster basil. But they did.

So did these succulents I found when I cleared out the Portulaca:

Surprise! I did not expect to find those.

Cleaning out garden clutter is always a lot of work, but it’s worth it.

Come spring, I’ll be glad I got the hard work out of the way.

What about you? Have you cleaned up your garden yet, or are you going to wait until spring?

I’ll be back manana, hope to see you here.

