Each Saturday, all month long, I’m going to feature holiday images from around Albuquerque and New Mexico. We’ve got our own style here – it’s quirky, but charming. I’d like to show that off to you.

Holiday-themed Saturdays!

Recently, some friends and I were taking a walk through a neighborhood out by the volcanoes. People had begun putting out their Christmas decorations. The key word is begun.

First we noticed the yet-to-be-inflated snowglobe. Then a Santa, a snowman, and more Santas. Each time we came across yet another deflated decoration, we couldn’t help giggling. Was there an air pump shortage on the west side? Was it a lack of time? Motivation? I’m not sure why it amused us so, but we were giggling like schoolkids.

After the walk, I decided to drive around the neighborhood with my Sony point and shoot camera. For such a small neighborhood, they sure had a lot of examples:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

See what I mean? Deflated decorations galore!

Anyway, it cracked me up the other day, and still does now.

Something else that cracked me up were these decorations:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, holiday-themed Saturdays

I think they’re supposed to be race cars, but why do they look more like race shoes?

That does it for my first December Burque-style Saturday. I’ll be back on Monday, hope to see you back here.

