I drive around this city a lot.

For one, I have to because of my small plant care business, Good To Grow. The plants are at other people’s offices, so I have to drive to them, and I have clients all over town.

And also, I love to explore. Albuquerque has so many interesting little neighborhoods, I can’t resist driving around and looking at how people live.

For those two reasons and others, I find that I rarely turn down an opportunity to drive down a street I’ve never been before.

A couple of weeks ago, some of us had lunch at Mario’s Pizza, the one on 4th street just north of Montano. As I was leaving, I decided to turn right out of their parking lot rather than try to turn left at the busy 4th and Montano intersection.

I took the first right after that, and ended up discovering the BEST HOLIDAY DECORATION POSSIBLY IN THE HISTORY OF MANKIND.

I pulled over and stared.

I admit, I was a little mesmerized.

I sat there for several minutes before pulling out my phone for a photo.

I pondered how long it must’ve taken to create such a work of art, I admired how festive it was.

Finally, I decided I needed to take a photo so that all of you, gentle readers, can share the holiday joy with me.

So here you go, Merry Christmas from Burque:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, December Burque-style

Tis the season to be merry!

Painted Pampas grass.

It’s kinda genius, because those stalks were already slated for the chopping block in the spring – why not decorate them in the meantime?

You’re welcome!

Last week, in the first Holiday-Themed Saturdays in December, I showed you photos of deflated Santas in a west-side neighborhood which amused me very much. It turns out that people unhook them during the day to save on power, but at night they get blown back up. That had not occurred to me. I don’t actually have proof that they are up and inflated at night – I haven’t driven over there because I don’t care – but I just wanted to tell you that it’s a thing that people do on purpose. Which makes it a lot less funny.

Anyway.

I’ll be back on Monday, hope to see you back here.

