Hello 2013sters, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Happy New Year to you all! I hope it’s going well for all of you. I don’t miss 2012 one little bit, how about you?

To help steer 2013 into a lighthearted direction, I’ve gathered my Panel of Experts for the first time in the new year. Before we get to today’s question, let’s say hi to them. Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You are so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

In keeping with the New Year’s theme, here’s today’s question:

Q. Would you like to share any of your resolutions for 2013?

Who knows, maybe they’ll decline! But considering the loquacious nature of my Experts, I doubt it. Expert Andy, please start us off:

A. Welcome back sports fans and very happy and blessed 2013 to you and your families.

I’m not one for resolutions but each year is typically met with a renewed enthusiasm to make the most out of my life.  To do that this year I vow to work smarter (less) and play harder (more).  To that end, I plan to celebrate ND’s win over ‘Bama in raucous style, plan to make an extended ski trip in Q1, celebrate my dad’s 70th birthday with him in person while watching the Hoosiers win a 6th national championship on April 8th, God blessing it to occur as I’ve dreamed about it, and overall just trying to be a happier, more contributing citizen.  God already has given me 3 more Colts wins than what I classified as “success” in August, my Hoosiers off to a 13 – 1 start, and ND in the BCS Championship.  It is all proof to me that God does indeed exist and that he is listening and rewarding me for recent strife.  Let my life be a lesson to all…..Persistence and fanaticism pays off eventually!

A. I’m not sure it’s worth it because I never keep them anyway. So anything I tell you all would be a lie waiting to happen…

Happy New Year, everyone!

A. I resolve to sleep more. Not just nice, nap-time sleep, but deep, hibernating grizzly bear kind of sleep. And to be nicer. Of course, if I’m asleep that will help.

A. I’ve never entertained the idea of resolutions seriously.  However, since this was the subject of the week, a little research might be appropriate.  Off I went to my easiest source: Google.  What a surprise!  Tons of references.

I guess there are many persons who take this very much to heart.  Further investigation was merited.  I chose “10 Steps To Successfully Keeping a Resolution.” (Seemed simple.)

Step No. 1:

Introduction to Keeping a Resolution(s)

Step No 2:

The Elements of Change

Step No 3:

Precontemplation

Step No 4:

Contemplation

Step No 5:

Stages of Change & How to Keep a Resolution

Step No 6:

Action

Step No 7:

Maintenance

Step No 8:

Relapse

Step No 9:

Required reading

Step No 10:

Related articles

Step No 11:

Consult with a psychologist/psychiatrist!

Whoa! Wait a minute!  You’ve got to be kidding me!!!  This is getting way out of hand.  I am exhausted just reading this list and if I were following this, it would be the winter of 2013 already!

I’ve managed to get thru 87 years without all this “fall-de-rall.”  I think I’ll just keep with my “free wheeling, fly by the seat of my pants” approach to life!  So far so good!  Why spoil a good thing?

Kudos to all you brave and stalwart straight arrows who religiously perform this ritual each year.  As for me, I shall just relax with my favorite lemon drop-raspberry martini, accept my self as I am, and think good thoughts and love my fellowman and woman too!

A. Loose a little attitude or buy bigger cloths, appreciate life more, sing, smile, laugh, tell more dumb stories I mean answer Ask the Expert, listen more, hug family and friends more, tell them you love them often, ask fewer question, speak the truth always, stand and deliver, have no shame to hide, share all, push when needed pull when you must, walk the good red road often, follow through on good idea procrastination gets you no where, live life to its fullest ever day for it could be your last, remember those gone but still loved, ok enough love you Good Year.

Oh, my! I’ve missed all of you! You’re each so funny in your own way, and I love how you each have your own take on the world. I wish you the best in the coming year, thanks so much for being here!

I didn’t make any resolutions this year – because I’m awesome (haha) – but I do have lots of wishes, including wishing for an end to violence around the globe and wishing for a whole lot more compassion for each other.  I hope we can work together, despite our many differences, because we’re all in this together.

I hope all my dear readers have a wonderful 2013, as well.

Great panel, Experts, thanks again. We hope to see you back here in exactly one week.

Let’s move on to last week’s puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Aloe was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Nancy Popp Mumpton wrote, “I say it is real, but maybe you are trying to trick us with the little water droplets!”

Charlie Hebert wrote, “Like Nancy, I’m thinkin’ real.. Lotta Realness in the neighborhood..
Happy New Year Liza and Peeps! :-)

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Real. and the rosemary behind it too.”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “I’m voting real. Happy New Year, Liza! Health, joy, peace and love to you!”

Alissa wrote, “Oooooooo, real!”

Tina wrote, “That waxiness…Hmmm….the water droplets…..I vote real.
A most Happy New year to all !!!”

That’s six votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer? Maybe a wider angle will help:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Real! In an atrium here in Albuquerque. That’s one happy Aloe. I used the photo with the water droplets, because I enjoy watching how water beads up on Aloe leaves. I think it’s beautiful!

Nancy, you were the first with the correct answer, which makes you the best answerer. Congratulations! For being so speedy, you have earned the title of “Ain’t Nobody Faster than Moi, in the Southwest or Beyond, La, La, La, Oh Yes, I’m Very Swift and I’m Also Brilliant and Beautiful with a Wicked Green Thumb, Oooh, Oooh Oooh.” Well played! You may multiply all the prizes by two baby goats. Congrats again!

You’re all winners – what a great way to start the new year. To show my gratitude for your participation, I’d like to award you each the following prizes: 2,013 hugs, 2,013 kisses, 2,013 high fives, 2,013 fist bumps, 2,013 bonus points, 2,013 ham sandwiches, 2,013 bragging rights, 2,013 compliments, 2,013 blessings, 2,013 songs, 2,013 pretend paid vacations, 2,013 rounds of applause, 2,013 hamster sandwiches, 2,013 accolades, 2,013 gold stars, 2,013 imaginary bouquets of flowers, 2,013 silver linings, 2,013 bowls of cranberry juice, 2,013 yehaws, one coupon good for a happy 2013, and two puppies. Congrats, and thanks for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this Epipremnum (Pothos) real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, January 10th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back on Monday, then hopefully after that I’ll be back to my typical Monday through Saturday publishing schedule. Hope to see you back here.

