Hello plantlovahs, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Experts, thank you for being here, too, and hello!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Have you shaken off the holidays and embraced 2013 yet? I sure hope so, because there is no turning back.

Personally, I’m full of optimism about the coming year. But then, I’m almost always in a good mood this time of year. Spring is just around the corner, so my mind has been on gardening and what I’m growing this year. Daydreaming about gardening is something that makes me happy. I was curious what my Experts were happy about so far this year. So I asked ’em.

Q. Tell us about something that has made you very happy so far this year.

Expert Andy, please start us off today:

A. The Hoosiers have made me happy so far this year.  #5 in the land, 13 – 1, playing well, 2-0 in the Big Ten, and plenty of good home games ahead to stack the record and ranking even further.  That’s what makes me happy….WINNING and doing it the right way, graduating hard working kids, and making us proud off the court.

A. Through the first 10 days of 2013, I am happy that the American economy didn’t implode and ignite a conflagration of doom and despair across the entire planet. That would have sucked.

A. Very happy? Not one thing so much as some small things, some small moments I found pleasing. I wrote a little. Words make me happy. I ate a sumptuous carne adovada enchilada at a small place near Old Town. Chile makes me happy. I listened to some reggae and that made me happy. I suppose I’m easy to please.

A.

Faith and Begorra have I a tale to tell and it is all TRUE!!!!  Our dear Liza can attest to its veracity!!!!What a wonderful way to start the New Year!!!

      A short while ago, Liza received a request from a person that had been looking for me for several years .  In her quest to find me, she stumbled upon Liza’s site: https://goodtogrow.wordpress.com.

She requested my E mail address from Liza.  Liza being the sly one, responded she would be happy to forward the request to me.  Upon receiving the request, I immediately e mailed my dear Irish friend back – but heard nothing.  I was so disappointed and thought it might be a hoax but low and behold –it must have been heaven sent — a message appeared last week from my long lost friend.  This was a lady that worked for me for many years.  As she was of the Irish persuasion., we became fast friends.

As our lives changed (mainly mine) and I moved about the country, we lost track of each other.  I had last seen her on a visit to Olmsted falls, Ohio, 6 years ago.

Her children were still in school and lord save us – they are all now married and she is the grandmother of 5!  We exchanged pictures and memories and all is glorious and she plans a trip out here to the enchanted Arizona red rock land soon.

One must never under estimate the wonder and  the far reaching arms of Liza’s creative and “MAGIC” Blog.

BLESS YOU LIZA!

A.

Happy, A feeling that brings a smile to your face, comfort to your heart, joy to your spirit, peace to your soul, all is right with the world if only for a little while.

Happy, I have family and friends who love me, the trust and confidence of associates, the honor to stand tall and believe in what I do.

Happy, I took a breath this morning, the light shined in my eyes and my love of my life greeted me “Good Morning”.

Happy, Yes I’ve been happy and I wish you all the same

Dumb & corny but happy

You guys are awesome.

Andy, the Hoosiers have been making me happy too – did you see that I colored your answer crimsonish, in their honor?

Tim, yes it would’ve sucked.

If any of my readers have ever wondered how EZ got his nick name…

Dottie, you’re adorable! I’m so glad you and your friend reconnected – how fun!

Lewis, you’re adorable, too! I think I’d be happy, too, if I’d just gotten back from seeing Van Goghs up close and personal.

You guys are all great, thanks again for being here!

Aaaaand just like that, the panel is over. The Experts will return in exactly one week. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, last week’s puzzler answer.

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Epipremnum was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Nancy Popp Mumpton of Arizona wrote, “Let’s hope it is as real as it looks because they are good to have in a room to clean the air!”

Charlie Hebert wrote, “I’m gonna say real but I’m not 1000% sure.. I just had a Hamster sandwich and I feel kinda funny.. Maybe the one you did the surgery on in the office from a long-ago Blog???”

Terrence from Dynamic Gardening wrote, “This pothos plant is real, it looks nice and healthy!”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “That is way too beautiful to be fake. Real, and wonderfully so!”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Of course it’s real. you’re not even trying.”

Alissa wrote, “Real!”

Mary wrote, “I have to go with real.”

That’s seven votes real, zero votes fake, one taunt.

So what’s the correct answer?

Maybe a wider view will help:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Real! Just before those long tendrils got snipped. The growth spurts and the beautiful variegation of the leaves are the result of fertilizing. Epipremnums especially respond well to regular fertilizing or plant food – their leaves light up.

It would be tough for any fake plant manufacturer to duplicate those leaf colorations, they are just too pretty. Another good reason to choose real plants over fake ones.

Nancy, you were first with the correct answer for the second week in a row – well played! The first answerer is the best answerer, so this week you’ve earned the following title: Firstest, Premierest, Swiftest, Of High Moral Character, And a Snappy Dresser, Bestest, Most Plantastic Grandest Championiette of the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond. Congratulations! You may multiply all the prizes by Goldilocks. Thanks for playing.

Everyone’s a winner today. No huge surprise since you are all so smart. I’m grateful to you for playing, so I’d like each of you to have the following prizes: Four Daydreams, 17 extra Happy Moments, nine Smiles, two Chocolate Ice Cream Cones, a Voucher Good for a Half-price Coupon, three dozen Lips, 14 Bonus Points, an Inspirational Poster of Golden Retrievers Cleaning a Kitchen, an A+, and a hearty round of applause. Congratulations!

Thank you again to all of you!

???Real or Fake???

Is this cactus real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, January 17th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

