I get a kick out of trying to capture the beauty of the tiny flowers on my Chlorophytum comosum, or Spider plant (this one is Nel, the other isn’t flowering just yet).

They are so little, but they make a big impact, don’t you think?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Chlorophytum comosum flowers

So we talked last week about the future of this blog. I’ve been writing more or less regularly on here since October of 2009. I’m about 20 posts shy of 1,000 altogether.

I appreciate the support you’ve shown me. This blog has evolved from a place where I thought I’d be talking to plant newbies to instead I find that my regular readers are spectacularly knowledgeable about plants and gardens. I love that – it was unexpected.

What I’d like to do in the coming weeks is put together a new look, as well as new content. I would like to retain a little content for the novices, as they keep finding my blog through search engines. But I’d like to offer more to my seasoned pros – more inspiration for gardening, beautiful plant photos, examples of upgrades you can try for your indoor or outdoor garden.

Which begs the question, what would you regulars like to see?

Charlie Hebert made some suggestions, which have been great. One suggestion he made was for me to turn to you with questions – what got you excited about plants, what are your favorite houseplants, what was your first houseplant, what potting soil do you recommend, and so forth.

I love it. He’s right – it would be really cool to hear your personal stories about what got you into gardening or what sparked your love of houseplants.

So, regulars, any takers? Charlie’s sent me his story of how he came to love plants – will you send me yours? (Via email.) You can also include a photo of yourself, your garden, your favorite houseplant, etc.

I’ll publish them once a week until everyone has had a chance to tell their story.

I’m guessing that those of you in other parts of the country like seeing how we grow stuff in the Desert Southwest, because it’s often so different than your methods. So I’ll make more of an effort in the coming year to talk to our farmers and local greenthumbs. (Unless you tell me otherwise.)

If you have any suggestions or content ideas you’d like to see, please let me know, either in the comments section or via email. I appreciate your input, and your loyalty! Thanks so much!

