Everyone knows that Santa Fe is for artists. The City Different is home to world class opera singers and musicians. World class sculptors and painters. World class writers.

Albuquerque, the Duke City, does not share that reputation, even though the city is home to many talented and skilled artisans. We have art galleries sprinkled throughout the city. There’s public art everywhere. Music venues, authors, dancers – all call ‘burque home.

If you live here, you can sense the creative vibe, and witness it. You can see people expressing themselves creatively all over town.

The execution of said creativity, however, isn’t always pretty.

Take Exhibit A, my neighbor’s new “work of art”:

Good To Grow, LIza's photos, questionable art in Albuquerque

Good To Grow, LIza's photos, questionable art in Albuquerque

Good To Grow, LIza's photos, questionable art in Albuquerque

Um, yeah. A lawn chair on stilts.

I like their creative yearnings.

I like the recycled aspect.

But overall, I’m not pleased that I have to see this every day.

It does nothing for me aesthetically. I think it’s ugly.

What about you? Like it? Hate it? Think I’m being too harsh?

It’s quirky, I’ll give it that. Quirky ‘burque. That’s where I live.

