Regular readers know how much I love to grow bulbs indoors. Hyacinths are my favorite because they’re so easy and once they bloom, their fragrance is divine.

Over the years, I’ve started probably at least a hundred bulbs to give away as gifts or to keep for myself. Every single one of them has begun the same way – by putting out a multitude of roots immediately after being placed in water.

I can’t say that all of them bloomed, as I gave most of them away, but they have been very reliable about sending out roots.

Until the one I decided to keep for myself:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my peculiar Hyacinth

I started it in December, and was surprised by how slowly it’s been growing.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my peculiar Hyacinth

It should’ve already bloomed by now, but instead all I have is a little bit of green.

Turns out, the dang thing only put out two strangly little roots:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my peculiar Hyacinth

No wonder it’s not growing very quickly! This is the strangest bulb I’ve ever seen.

Has anyone heard of this before?

Maybe the kitchen windowsill gets too much light, and that interrupted the root development? I’ve had other bulbs on the same windowsill that grew just fine. But maybe this one was just particularly finicky.

Opinions? Thoughts?

