It’s not going that well. The Chayotes were rotting, even as they were sprouting.

(For newcomers, Chayote seeds need to be inside the fruit in order to germinate. To get them to sprout, you can simply put them on a sunny windowsill. They will also sprout in the dark, like if you put them in a closet or cabinet. I haven’t tried the darkness method, but I gave some Chayotes to my friend Jen, and hers have ten-inch sprouts in her kitchen cabinet. Hers are rotting, too, but she got a lot more growth than I did.)

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Chayote growing experiment

I decided to plant them last week, outside in a container.

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Chayote growing experiment

It must’ve been too cold, as the sprout turned black.

Growing fail!

And so, we start again.

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Chayote growing experiment

They may have ugly mugs, but I’m determined to grow them!

