The Great Chayote Growing Experiment Update:

Of the four new Chayotes I got at the Mexican grocery store, two have begun sprouting:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

I find it fascinating that these squash-like vegetables self germinate. The seed has to be inside the Chayote for it to sprout. Very cool.

Maybe I’m just fascinated because they look so funky while they are sprouting, like their mouths are opening up:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

Or maybe it’s because I know so little about them. For example, how come the other two Chayotes aren’t sprouting? Would they sprout if they were in a dark location?

IMG_5517

Yes, my dedication to growing these ugly veggies is sorta ridiculous at this point. But if I can be successful, I’ll have vegetables that have more vitamins than a typical squash, that are sturdier than typical squash (which is great for calabacitas), and a perennial plant that’s happy in our hot climate.

And who knows, maybe I can help spark a new foodie trend. Chayote, the new arugula? That would be awesome.

If I’m not successful growing my own, maybe I can get other local farmers growing them so I don’t have to buy pesticide-laced vegetables from the grocery store.

Ok, enough ugliness. Let’s look at pretty things, like this orchid I got for my birthday:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

And the pretty Bougainvillea, still patiently waiting to return to the great outdoors:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

And this cute little Aeonium in the afternoon light:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

