Thanks everyone, for your input on continuing Wednesday posts. I guess I’ll keep going with them until I run out of material.

None of you offered any ideas on what was wrong with this Epipremnum ‘Pothos’:

IMAG0467

So we’ll go straight to what I wrote her back.

Me:

“That looks like sunburn to me. Pothos are indoor plants, they shouldn’t be outside in the sun – they can’t handle it. If it’s a hot day, their leaves can melt in minutes (and by melt, I mean turn black). They are happiest in indirect light, not direct sunlight.

It’s hard to grow a full plant from just a cutting or two, like what you have. It’s best to group a bunch of cuttings together so the plant is full from the getgo. Gives them a better chance of success. If you can salvage any of the burnt plant, try planting it with other cuttings.

Thank you for your photos! They were helpful. Good luck with your plants. Liza”

Do I know for sure it was sunburned? No. Because I wasn’t there. But I’ve seen sunburned Pothos before (and sunburned other houseplants), and that’s what happens – the leaves turn black, or a sickening brown. And she did say she left it outside. As a general rule of thumb, plants that are accustomed to living indoors do poorly outside. They can be fine on a porch, but not out in full sun. Dracaenas, I’ve noticed, are particularly sensitive to sun damage.

What do you think? Do you agree or disagree? What would you have told her?

I’ll be back manana with plant puzzler action. You still have time to guess the current puzzler. The deadline is tonight at midnight MST (that’s 2am EST). Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. Hope to see you back here.

