Yesterday, I presented you with an email question I received about a houseplant and asked how you would’ve answered. I also asked you if you’d like to submit flower photos for a new version of Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. Let’s first look at the houseplant question, then see how you answered:

Reader Q:

>>>>Dear plantlady i have a question for u hope u can help, I received  a golden pothos  clippings  as a gift and it was planted in a glass vase with soil with a beautiful bow which made a nice gift, so now i want to make one too, i noticed that the vase didn;t have a hole at the bottom would i need to add some rocks or something at bottom for drainage?>>>>

Now your answers:

Alissa (vastpalatte) wrote, “Sractch the soil if she wants to use a vase. Stick to just water or water and rocks of her choice. I would love to see other readers’ blooms!”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “Hmmm…. Well, pothos can easily grow directly in water, so if she likes the idea of a pretty vase, I’d suggest getting rid of the soil and adding some nice rocks or pebbles or marbles…or whatever she really likes. Just make sure to freshen up the water regularly.

But if she wants soil, I’d recommend potting it in a container that has drainage holes.”

Kim wrote, “I agree with Martha and vastpalette on the pothos question. I would also enjoy seeing other readers’ blooms. I currently have a mini african violet and a streptocarpus in bloom that I could share photos of as well.”

Such smart readers I have! I knew you’d nail that question.

Here’s what I wrote back to the person:

>>>>Hello! If you’d like to make a similar gift, I would skip the soil and just use water. Pothos cuttings can live a long time in water. The problem with using soil in a vase is that it doesn’t have a drainage hole, so root rot will be a constant concern. Rocks would help, but if you just eliminate the soil, then you don’t have to worry about rot at all. With water, you can put decorative stones on the bottom to make the gift even prettier. When the person you give the gift to is ready, that person can transfer the cuttings to a pot with drainage holes and soil.

Hope that helps!
Liza>>>>

Soil is unnecessary in this particular case, and could cause rotting problems. So good job, Alissa, Martha and Kim – you gave the same advice I did. That’s cool. I love it when great plant minds think alike!

It also sounds like soliciting flower photos would be a good idea, so start clicking away! Send me photos of what’s blooming in and around your casa, and I’ll publish them on the 16thish of each month.

I’ll be back tomorrow with puzzler action, hope to see you here.

