Hello dreamers, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Hey, guess what?

The Experts are baaaaaaack! Yay!

Here they are, aren’t they cute? Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You look adorable with your sunfloweryness!

From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. Readers, if you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Welcome back to all of you, it’s great to have you back! I hope you enjoyed your time off, I know I missed you around here.

I tried to think of a universally appealing question, one that both welcomed you back and addressed current events, but I struck out. Instead, I’m offering you two questions, you’re welcome to answer either one. Here are your questions:

Question 1: As the NCAA tournament comes to a close, what would you like to say about the college basketball tourney?

Question 2: You’ve been on a break from this blog for the past month. How was it, did you do anything fun you’d like to share with us?

Most of my regular readers already know that I love college basketball (except when bones burst through skin). I’m bummed that Indiana lost – I had my beloved Hoosiers winning it all – but I’ve been enjoying the competition anyway.

Just because I’m obsessing over the tournament, doesn’t mean everyone is, hence the two questions. Some of the Experts share my love of basketball, some have other things on their minds.

Let’s hear what they have to say. Expert Andy, you’re up first:

A. I would like to say that I am glad my euphoria of Indiana basketball was self-controlled to the point of not buying Final Four tickets, a flight, rental car and a hotel room.  Only 1 fan base, Louisville, could have been so bold and been rewarded this year.  If the fans of the other 3 teams bought tickets in advance God Bless them for believing.  Two #4 seeds and a #9?  Wow.  Who knew?  This goes to show you that the NCAA tournament is extremely unpredictable and we all need to keep our sports passions in check.  I won’t go into the 1 week of depression cycle after the IU loss for fear of relapse.

A. Wichita State makes it to the Final Four (TM, NCAA), and the team that stomped them twice in regular season conference play, my Creighton Bluejays, gets bounced in the Round of 32 by, of all teams, Duke. Where is the justice in that?

Plus, I think I’m in last place in my bracket contest, which just makes the whole thing intolerable. Curse you, March Madness (TM, NCAA)!

A. The past couple of days I have been going through newspapers 30 years old. It was 30 years ago this week that the NCAA Final Four arrived in Albuquerque. With it came an unlikely team from North Carolina State. They had a coach named Jim Valvano, son of Rocco and Angelina from Queens. During the two weeks I covered his team, I watched him compete in a dance contest at a local drinking establishment, saw how he cared for his players and they for him, and watched them pull off one of the greatest upsets in tournament history. At one point, Valvano told me (and I later discovered he told anyone who would listen) his secret to a full day: laugh a good laugh, allow yourself a cry, and think.

A

Whispers of Spring – March is one of my most nostalgic months of joy – heralding the earth’s awakening.  I feel the energy oozing through my body –from head to toe – I want to throw off the shackles of winter and run wildly thru the woods

And sit under a tree and listen to the birds’ songs as they busily build their nests with the expectation of another generation of life beginning.  Henry David Thoreau expressed it well:

“I perceive the spring in the softened air ….Looking through this transparent vapor, all surfaces, not osiers and open water alone, look more vivid.  The hardness of winter is relaxed.  There is a fine effluence surrounding the wood, as if the sap had begun to stir and you could detect it a mile off.  Such is the difference between an object seen through a warm, moist, and soft air and a cold, dry hard one.  Such is the gentleness of nature that the trees appear to have put out feelers by which the senses apprehend them more tenderly.  I do not know that the woods are ever more beautiful, or affect me more.”

Welcome sweet springtime “Mr. Bo Jangles”.  “Mr. Bo Jangles” is our little colorful Anna humming bird, who weathered the cold winter with us, and has just found himself a wife and is busy building a nest and starting his first spring family. (Actually it is Mrs. Bo Jangles who does the “building”.  Mr. Bo Jangles stands by to encourage her inspiration or is it perspiration?)

A.

Wow look out world we are back

Great and good we have done

Easter Sunday we feasted family came from far and wide

All in good health and good cheers

Blessed in their  travels to and fro

and friends

All loved by all

Young bright eyes,

Old the same just wiser

From the earth springs new life, greens and reds and blues

But only SOL the sun cross our sky, we love you but

Rain cloud as rare as a honest political lobbyist or a sane NRA’er (Hell let’s give every school kid a gun)

PFR / pray for rain it is critical we are in a crisis drought

Why do weeds grow like hell with so little rain

How many of you out there are CPR/First Aid/AED trained

That many huh, well good,

The rest of you it’s time to step up and get trained

Recently at a Senior Center we were inspecting there was a  senior dance going on

As a lady left the floor at the end of the music she collapsed with a heart attack

A couple of people went to her aid, we called 911, started CPR and then an AED was brought to the scene

The AED(Automatic External Defibrillator)was activated, instructions followed, a shock was given, CPR was continued

AFD Paramedics arrived about 12 minutes after she collapsed, they took over, we moved away

The woman was scheduled to have emergency bypass surgery early the next day

She was alive,

Don’t be a wall flower don’t be afraid, some one’s life is in your hands

To do nothing is not the answer

Liza, It great to be back, I’m sorry I called you all those terrible names while I was away I’ll try not to do it again

PFR

Oh, how I’ve missed you! You’re awesome!

Each in your own individual way! I enjoyed all of your answers today. I feel your pain, I feel your joy. Thank you, everyone!

I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate your time and effort. Seriously, you guys rock!

That does it for today’s panel of Experts. The Experts will return in exactly one week. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, the answer to last week’s puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this flower was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Steph from Indianapolis wrote, “Makes me want to eat eggs for some reason. Maybe I’m just hungry for breakfast. REAL”

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Real!

I hope I remember to bring my camera to my next dance practise – spotted a potential puzzler-picture in our new practise room!”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Real. tulip?”

Jason from GardeninaCity wrote, “I vote REAL. Not sure what it is, although maybe a species tulip of some kind.”

Tina from Canada wrote, “I love the egg analogy Steph! It’s gotta be real. Happy spring all!”

That’s five votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

I neglected to get a wider view of that particular flower, but here’s a look at some other flowers:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

To prove that they are REAL!

They are some type of Tulip but I don’t know which one. My landlady must’ve planted them. I think they’re darling!

Steph, you’re first yet again this week. What a streak! Good job, girl! For being the swiftest this week, you’ve earned the title of “Blah, Blah, Blah, Winner, Blah, Blah, Blah, Winner, Blah, Blah, Blah, Winner, Blah, Blah, Blah, Winner,” for the next week. Congratulations, haha! You may multiply all the prizes by spaghetti.

You’re all winners this week! To show my gratitude for you playing, I’d like to award each of you the following prizes: All my leftover Easter candy, four dominoes, one singing mermaid, green chile chicken enchiladas, 13 2/3 extra credit points, one platter of shooting stars, a poetic license, two symphonies, six herbs, one mysterious conversation, a voucher good for a treasure, 14 bragging rights, a pelican, three daffodils and chocolate milk. Congratulations! And thanks for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, April 11th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote.

Next Friday, the Experts will be back with an all-new panel. I’m going to ask them this question: “If April showers bring May flowers, what does your milkshake bring to the yard?” Juuuuuuust kidding. You’ll have to come back if you want to know the real question.

I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) of the puzzler after next week’s panel. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back manana, hope to see you here.

