Since 2001, I’ve owned a small plant care business in Albuquerque called Good To Grow. Since 2009, I’ve maintained this indoor and outdoor gardening blog.

Each Wednesday, I’ve been posting emails from readers who had questions about their houseplants. Most of the letters came from people who are not regular readers, but who stumbled across this blog because they had a specific houseplant question. When I could, I wrote them back with advice tailored to their specific question. I saved all these emails in a file.

Since my regular readers are so sophisticated with their houseplant knowledge, and because everyone has their own take on caring for plants, I wanted to turn the emails over to them and see what their advice would’ve been had the email come to them. On Wednesdays, I’ll post the original question, and on Thursdays, I’ll reveal the advice from the regulars, as well as my response, so we can see how we match up. It’s been an interesting experiment so far, I hope you enjoy. If you have advice, please leave it in the comment section or on my facebook wall.

Mimosa pudica plants, or Sensitive Plants, have been a favorite of mine for a long time. I love how their leaves fold when you touch them, and how the whole plant “sleeps” at night. I can’t help it – they make me giggle!

I wouldn’t recommend planting Mimosas outdoors, because they’ll take over everything. But maintaining a cute little plant in a pot is totally cool.

Since I like Mimosas in containers so much, I’ve blogged about them a bunch of times. Which means that sometimes people searching for Mimosa information find me and email me their questions.

Here’s an exchange from last year. Names have been withheld for their privacy.

READER QUESTION:

>>>>Hello!

I Have a sensitive plant with yellow leaves! I found your blog online and saw that you had a similar situation. She was green and fine yesterday and now a bunch of her leaves are yellow! Do you think it’s from overwatering? How often am I supposed to water one of these plants? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Should I leave the yellow leaves? Will they turn green again?<

I asked for a photo, and she responded:>>>>This is what it looks like now, it was totally green yesterday. How often should i water it? Thank you for any help you have to offer!
>>>>

The leaves are falling off! Is it too late? I’ve had this plant for about 6 days, I can’t believe I’m killing it already.>>>>

IMAG1034Hmmmm…tricky, eh?

I’ll give you a hint: I don’t think you need to have direct experience with a Mimosa pudica to be able to correctly assess the damage to this plant, or to suggest a remedy.

What do you think? What would your advice be?

Leave your suggestions in the comments section, and tomorrow I’ll post your thoughts. Then I’ll reveal my actual response to her and we’ll see how we match up. See ya then!

