Hello peacelovers, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

What a bummer of a week. I feel no relief that Friday’s here like I usually do.

We plan these Experts posts ahead of time, so the question was asked before the bombings and explosions. I decided to go ahead and publish the post, and hopefully give everyone a semi-amusing distraction.

I can’t personally stop the violence in the world, but I can try to give people a respite from it for a few minutes. If I can do that, I’m satisfied.

Let’s get things started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

So cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Here’s this week’s question:

Q. What gets you into the spring spirit?

Expert Andy, start us off, will you?

A.

March Madness.

The Masters.

Golf.
The Kentucky Derby.
The Indy 500.
Warm days.
Cool nights.

A. Being able to wear shorts gets me in the spring spirit. After all those months of wearing jeans, nothing gets me going for spring more than putting on shorts!

Wow, it doesn’t take much to make me happy, does it?

A. The last basket of the NCAA tournament and the first pitch. The last frost, the first warm breeze. The last chant of Good Friday and the first Easter prayer. The last quilt tucked away and the first apple blossom. The first warm kiss of the sun on my winter-worn face.

Dottie_JPG

A. Ah!  Welcome sweet Spring Time.  I’m just an Irish romantic at heart!  Spring brings the vision of lovely blooms, fresh aromas, everything springs to life bringing new birth of ideas and faith for a better future which we certainly need now after the events of the past few weeks.
Hope springs eternal for a softer, kinder world.

In the words of Mark Twain:

“It’s Spring Fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want –oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache — Oh you want it so!!!”

Let your soul soar with the fever!

A. The promise of rain for we can not grow/live without it
No need for sunshine we have plenty
I got sweet peas, broccoli, kale and more growing

I’m holding on to my sanity and my loved ones tightly while madness rushes by

I stand and stare at the 12 stars and the waxing moon  I see from my city front yard

And wish for _____________

Oh nice! I agree with all of you!

Lewis, madness, indeed. And sadness. Dottie, I love it, and I share your hopes for a kinder world! EZ, beautiful, I love your poetic ways! Thack, it’s ok, I’m easily amused, too, as evidenced by this blog. Andy, would this be a good time for me to brag about coming in 2nd place in your NCAA tournament pool? Obviously not as good as 1st place, but it’s my highest finish ever, and in my mind, I beat out hundreds of seasoned pros (it was probably more like 20 people). So that was fun! Thanks for hosting.

Thanks Experts, for being here. I hope you all stay safe in your neighborhoods.

The Experts will return in exactly one week.

Now, the puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Dracaena was real or fake:

2013-04-04_12-17-45_310

Let’s see how you answered:

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Real again! I love those – sitting next to one right now.”

Steph from Indianapolis wrote, “Mmmmm pretty <3”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “Very real! This is one of my favourite plants.”

Tom from the Midwestern Jungle wrote, “Real once again!”

Emma Lee from ALove Cartography blog wrote, “I’m sayin real…”

Hi Emma! Emma, meet the regulars. Regulars, this is Emma Lee from right here in Albuquerque. She’s a beautiful lady and I’m delighted to have her play the puzzler. Thanks, Emma!

Ok.

That’s five votes real, zero votes fake.

What’s the correct answer?

This is where I would show you the wider view you so you could see whether it’s real or fake, but somehow I don’t have a follow up photo for you. Instead, I have this photo from my phone showing where the Dracaena was:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Osuna Nursery. So it was obviously real. You guys are so smart! Well done!

Ivy, you were first with the correct answer, which makes you the best answerer! Congratulations! For being so speedy this week, you’ve earned the title of “I’m So Fast I’m a Blur, the Most Awesome Blur Ever To Appear in the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond, Plus I Rock.” Way to go! You may multiply all the prizes by Twinkies, Ding Dongs, Frozen HoHos, Little Debbie Snacks.

You’re all winners this week – great job! To show my gratitude for your participation, I’d like to award you each the following prizes: Three Peaceful Notions, the Soundtrack for Pretty in Pink, blueberry cheesecake, 14 1/2 extra credit points, two sparkly sunsets, a commemorative tea cup, roller skates, one tip of the day, one coupon good for two coupons, four chocolate chips, five high fives, a curtain call and several bananas. Congratulations, and thanks for playing!

And now, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, April 25th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

