Since 2001, I’ve owned a small plant care business in Albuquerque called Good To Grow. Since 2009, I’ve maintained this indoor and outdoor gardening blog.

Each Wednesday, I’ve been posting emails from readers who had questions about their houseplants. Most of the letters came from people who are not regular readers, but who stumbled across this blog because they had a specific houseplant question. When I could, I wrote them back with advice tailored to their specific question. I saved all these emails in a file.

Since my regular readers are so sophisticated with their houseplant knowledge, and because everyone has their own take on caring for plants, I wanted to turn the emails over to them and see what their advice would’ve been had the email come to them. On Wednesdays, I’ll post the original question, and on Thursdays, I’ll reveal the advice from the regulars, as well as my response, so we can see how we match up. It’s been an interesting experiment so far, I hope you enjoy. If you have advice, please leave it in the comment section or on my facebook wall.

Let’s try another of these. Here’s the question posed:

READER:

>>>>Hello Liza,
I adopted a huge aloe Vera plant from my mother in law today and by looking at it, it’s in great need of repotting. I happen to stumble on your website today and saw your entry Sam the Aloe Vera Plant and his Quintuplets. Thanks for your great ideas. I just have one question for you if it’s alright. By looking at my picture of my aloe plant, can I transplant it into smaller pots like you did with Sam? I think I have a different type of aloe plant here and it has thick stalks. Also your plant has speckled white on the leaves whereas mine doesn’t. In any case, can I still transplant mine the same way? Thanks for your time. Btw, I’m new at this and not an expert but I do enjoy saving plants and see them healthy again.>>>>

photo(1)

Ok, smartyplants. What would your advice be?

Leave your best guesses in the comments section. I’ll share your answers tomorrow, along with my response to the reader, and we’ll see how we match up. Good times!

