You know how I’m always telling people that if they’re going to create raised beds or a container garden, that they should make it stylish?

I say that because I like to put a value on beautification. For me personally, it’s important to make my container garden beautiful because I’m the one who’s going to be looking at it every day. I don’t want to look at half-ass work or mundane containers. I want to look at a garden that makes me excited to continue, that makes me proud of my hard work, that makes my rewards (vegetables, fruits and flowers) that much sweeter.

Aesthetics matter because aesthetics can inspire. They inspire me to strive to be better, and maybe, just maybe, they can inspire someone else to take an interest in growing.

Gardening is not only my therapy, but it’s my passion. And I want to share that passion with the world because growing things is wonderful.

So why not make it pretty in the process?

Does that make me shallow? Maybe. Do I mind? Nope. I’m not ever going to feel bad about trying to make Nature even more beautiful than it already is. I’m a visual being – I’m not going to feel bad about trying to please my eyes.

Or trying to please your eyes.

So.

With that in mind, I present to you my updated, modern backdoor container garden oasis:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

MY CUP RUNNETH OVER!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

I’ve been busy for the last few months working on these containers. It’s been a lot of work, but I think it’s totally worth it.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Work indeed. Someone had to shovel the soil from the driveway into the containers, and that someone was me this past weekend. The soil came from Soilutions, a local company. It’s a mix of compost and topsoil. Since I’m growing food in this soil, I wanted a quality product at a fair price.

(Did you spot my coffee cup in the above photo? I started early in the morning since it was such a big job.)

Buying bags of soil would’ve been cost prohibitive, as I needed roughly 47 cubic feet of soil. (That’s a lot of bags.)

Even though I bought the soil in bulk, I still wanted to be judicious in using it to make sure I had enough to go around. So I used old plastic pots in the bottom of the containers to take up space:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

IMG_5907

The containers each have several drain holes, which the plastic pots don’t block. The plants won’t mind the plastic, and roots will have an extra layer of protection against rot. It’s a win-win for everyone.

My neighbor Jerry built the containers for me. Here’s what one of them looked like as I was painting it:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

The black interior is a waterproofing spray. The container is waferboard and two by fours. Easy peasy sturdy.

The paint choices were entirely my own. I chose them to highlight the beauty of the plants.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

I’ve only just begun planting the containers. In the coming weeks, I’ll be adding more and more.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

I started with some succulents and a Bougainvillea, because they were on hand.

I’ll be adding a few vines (Thunbergia) and lots of veggies and flowers.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Flowers will include Penstemons, Agastaches, more Osteospermums, and maybe some Verbena, Gaillardia, Desert Marigolds.

I transplanted one Penstemon already from another bed:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

The vegetable and herb list goes something like this: Tomatoes, Basil, Carrots, Parsley, Chile Peppers, Garlic, Onions, Chayote Squash, Radishes, Beets, Shallots, Chives and Oregano. (I have Onions, Rosemary, Tarragon and Garlic growing in another bed as well.)

I’M SO EXCITED I CAN HARDLY STAND IT!

Like I said, my cup runneth over.

In other news, my Mexican Primroses are back:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

And the blooms on Gus, a Gasteraloe in the foyer, have finally begun opening!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my backdoor container garden

Aaaah, the rewards of gardening are plentiful. And I am extremely grateful and humbled by it all.

So what do you think?

Do you like my updated garden? Does it inspire you to make one for yourself?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

