Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Today I’m hosting the May 2013 Garden Nonbloggers’ Bloom Day, for those readers who want to show off their flowers but don’t have a blog of their own (or who do – anyone can join in).

I love it. Living in Albuquerque, I’ve been telling people in other parts of the country that we’d send them spring just as soon as we were done with it. It’s nice to see the photographic proof of it happening.

Also, I really enjoy seeing other people’s gardens and flowers. I hope you do, too.

Let’s start first with Nancy Mumpton, who lives in neighboring Arizona.

Says Nancy:

Echinopsis ‘Dutchman’s Gold’
Echinopsis oxygona ‘Pink’
Echinocereus ‘Ruby Rainbow’
IMG_3080

IMG_3072

IMG_3065

Nancy, those are gorgeous! It never ceases to delight me that soft fluttery flowers can come from such menacing looking cacti. Another good reason not to let thorns stand in the way of falling in love.

Thanks, Nancy, for sharing your blooms!

Next up is everyone’s favorite DC-area Optician, Virginia Burton.

Says Ginny,

>>>>”Mostly, it’s Iris — here, there, and everywhere!”

-5

“Red at Night”

-6

“Frank Adams”

-7

“Pallida”

-8

“Flavescens”

-9

Huge NOID white, which I suspect is “Snow Flurry”

-3

The back porch

-4

-1

Along the sidewalk

-2

Above the kitchen sink.  That’s where I put all the flowers that I’ve found broken off by people’s stupid dogs or that have flopped over onto the sidewalk or into the street.  Plus the three tomatoes that my husband plans to plant as soon as the weather warms up consistently.

Thanks for hosting!
Ginny>>>>Lovely, lovely! To be fair to dogs, though, maybe it was stupid kids who broke the flowers off. Haha, juuuuust kidding! Children are precious angels.

Ginny, your back porch looks so inviting. I love how green your part of the country is – there are so many trees around DC and Virginia. It’s a pretty, pretty area. And it looks like you’re doing your part to add to its beauty. Nicely done!

We finished with our Irises a week or two ago, so it’s nice to see yours. Thanks for sharing!

If you’d like to send in photos of what’s blooming in or around your casa, you can email your photos to me at lizatheplantlady@gmail.com. I’ll post them on the 16thish of each month, the day after the Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

I’ll be back with an all new Ask the Experts panel tomorrow, along with puzzler action. Hope to see you back here.
