Hello Flowerists, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Ahhh, beautiful Friday. Here in Albuquerque, we’ve had rain all week!! That hopefully will lead us straight into a gorgeous spring weekend. It’s looking good so far!

Hopefully the weather treats all of you gently this weekend. A tired nation could use that. In the meantime, let’s have some fun. Today we’re hosting an all-new Panel of Experts. Let’s get things started by saying hi to them. Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You guys are so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Speaking of spring showers, here’s this week’s question for our Experts:

Q. People say that April showers bring May flowers. What are your favorite flowers?

Expert Andy is going to start us off as usual:

A.

Mundane and possibly boring and cliche’ I know, but I like the Rose.  Here’s why?
1.  It is my mom’s middle name & my beautiful niece’s as well.
2.  I think they have the best smell of every flower in the universe as I know it.  Well, my universe.
3.  The Kentucky Derby winner looks very lavish in their coat.  Go ORB!  Win the damn Triple Crown & I will promptly go to the Pinewood Bar and order a Triple Crown (& Coke).
4.  I used to have a number of rose bushes.  They require a lot of attention, much like the women for whom we swoon.  They fight back as well, with their sharp thorns.  A lot of similarities.  Coincidence?  I think not.
5.  They come in many colors.  Although the deep red rose is hard to argue against, I also adore good, healthy yellow roses.  I think they smell a bit better than the red, but perhaps it is because my eyes are tricking me, not my nose.
Coming in #2 on my list would probably be the Lilly.
#3.  the Tulip.  Why?  Because it is the answer to the only joke I can ever remember.
Q.  What is better than Roses on your piano?
A.  Tulips on your organ!
No man can argue with that.

A.

This is a repetitive answer, but scarlet begonias. Because of the Dead song, specifically the following lyrics:

“Once in a while,
you get shown the light,
in the strangest of places,
if you look at it right.”

A. I have always waited for the return of the yellow roses. I knew them best a long time ago, when they grew just outside my bedroom window. They were like large lemon drops or a hundred tiny suns. I want to rest underneath their dark green leaves and royal thorns, and smell the sweet scent of summer.

A.
Behold the lowly Daisy!  – quite plain, no romantic
Aroma, or fancy frilly leaves –just down home warm and welcoming.  You can’t help but smile when you see one dancing and waving to you in the breeze.  While seemingly unshowy or dramatic, the daisy has a fascinating history.

From around 2200 B.C. daisies were among the flowers that grew in ancient Egyptian temple
Gardens.  These gardens were cultivated for their herbal and medicinal qualities.  The daisy maintained a key role in the field of medicine during medieval times.  The name daisy came from the Anglo-Saxon “daie eage” meaning “day’s eye” – re: thought to cure eye problems.  King Henry VIII relied on eating daisies for various ailments as; gout, stomach-ulcer pains and for treating wounds.

However, no history of the daisy could be complete without mention of the association with love.  “He loves me, He loves me not” as you breathlessly strip each petal and hope it comes out, “He loves me” —- and thereby hangs a tale:

One of the first swains who caught my eye in the first year of high school, started leaving a daisy
Hooked in the vents of my locker each day — no note —just the lovely yellow daisy.  I was overwhelmed with “Puppy love” – he was one of my first serious beaus and we developed a grand friendship.  In the process, he learned of my 3 week summer job where I had worked for this little company that made, of all things, Rat Poison!  Hey! money is money when you are 15!
Each piece was hand wrapped and then packaged.

The daises continued to appear on my locker, but after that were accompanied with a note addressed to: “ Rat Poison Daisy” – Of course placed on the outside of my locker for all the world to see and hence I acquired the nickname of “Rat Poison Daisy”.  He meant it kindly, but unfortunately all the teasing ended our romance quickly.  However, I still have a fondness for daisies – remembering one of my first loves and that first daisy found in my locker.  I do believe they have magical powers; “He loves me, he loves me not, He loves me!”

A.

We got a little rain thank you Mother. You folks beyond the Southwest if you are not in a drought.
Wish  you good weather, may you not be visited by ill wind.
Unfortunate Texas had tornado’s that caused death and destruction last night . Blessing to you Texas.
I love Morning Glories Heavenly Blue last fall I found a totally white morning glory I saved some seeds and hoping to grow some. I’ll let you  know what I get. If it has color, a good character and comes to do no harm then I like it.

PFR +

Nice, everyone. I think we covered everything in those answers – dirty jokes, Dead songs, roses, rat poison and rain. You’re all awesome! Thanks for sharing your opinions with us.

That does it for our Experts panel this week. Thanks to the Experts for bringing a smile to my face. I hope everyone enjoyed their interesting take on today’s question.

The Experts will return in exactly one week. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, the answer to the current puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this Orchid was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Real.

And – bwahahaha! I’m ridiculously pleased to have fooled some people with that picture.
(And it was actually night when I took it – well spotted, Gennafer!)”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Real… but Ive never really thought orchids looked real anyway.”

Steph from Indianapolis wrote, “Just like all the Mother’s Day tributes these are beautiful. I’ve seen some pretty good fake orchids, but I gotta go with REAL on this one.

Liza you give out the best prizes! Can’t wait to use my voucher for those coupons! xo”

Then she doubted herself and added, “Real looking fake?”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “The flowers look too soft to be fake, so I’m voting real!”

Jason from Garden in a City wrote, “Real.”

Tom from Midwestern Jungle wrote, “Real. And I’m glad I forgot to answer the previous one because I would have been wrong!”

That’s 6 votes real, 1 votes fakish.

[The above section has been revised after I realized I omitted one of the answers. It’s all fixed now!)

What’s the correct answer? Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

It’s not that great of a ph0to, but hopefully it’s good enough for you to see that it’s real!

Claude, I agree, Orchids look almost fake to me because they are so oddball and otherworldly. But they are beautiful and hard to duplicate with plastic. The Orchid pictured above is at my Mom’s house – it blooms all the time.

Ivy, you were first with the correct answer, so that makes you the best answerer. For being so speedy this week, you’ve earned the title of “Ivy, the Orchid Whisperer and also Bunny Whisperer but the Important Part for Right Now Is the Orchid Part” for the next week. So for example, if you’re working at the nursery and a customer asks you about some bedding plants, you can pawn that customer off to another employee by explaining that you’re “Ivy, the Orchid Whisperer and also Bunny Whisperer but the Important Part for Right Now Is the Orchid Part.” I’m sure your coworkers won’t resent you at all! You may multiply all the prizes by one family portrait. Congratulations!

Everyone’s a winner for playing this week. To show my appreciation, I’d like you each to have the following prizes: Five spring showers, one bath, two slices of lemon cheesecake, 14 1/3 extra credit points, one glittery moonrise, seven May flowers (your choice), miniature salmon, three neon mountaintops, bribes, one pleasant melody, a cup of honey, 18 chocolate chips, an alignment, and four naps. Congratulations, and thanks so much for playing!

And now, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Another Orchid, but this one with a terrible photo. Haha, my way of trying to trick you! Is this plant real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, May 23rd, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

