Hello hot dogs, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

We love our Fridays around here. Especially Fridays that lead into a holiday weekend. To celebrate, we’ll have an all-new Panel of Experts, in which our Experts will hopefully charm all of you. We’ll also have an answer to last week’s plant puzzler, as well as a new puzzler for you to enjoy.

Let’s get the Friday action started by saying hi to the Experts. Hi Experts!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re adorable! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

Because we’re heading into a long weekend, I wondered what our Experts had to say about Memorial Day. So I asked them the following question:

Q. What are your plans for Memorial Day weekend?

Expert Andy, please start us off as usual:

A.  All readers should know me by now.  So my input will come as no surprise.

Sat.  Golf in IN, followed by a pre-Indy 500 party which may end up at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway facilities, mingling with my brethren until about 2am Sun.
Sun.  After what I hope is 4 hrs. of sleep, making my way into the track by 9:30am.  In the pits & hanging on the track by 10am.  Back to my seat by 11:30.  Singing “Back Home Again in Indiana” at 11:48.  Tearing up by 11:49.  Taps at 11:53.  Tearing up again.  Flyover by our national heros.  Start of the World’s Greatest Spectacle in Racing.  Beer after beer after beer after beer….  Celebrating with 300,000 of my friends, 200,000 of which I seem to see each year.  Falling asleep by 8pm during the Coca-Cola 600 due to the weekend festivities.
Mon.  Golf at 9am, shuttling friends to airport all day.  Chillin’ at night awaiting return to AZ.
That about sums it up for me.

A. Hanging out my daughter, and then watching war movies after she goes to sleep as my own way of honoring veterans.

A. No plans since I have to work, but I want to take a moment or two to say a prayer for those who have been in harm’s way or are in harm’s way.

A.  The celebration that falls on the 3rd Monday of May has changed over the years.  I tried to recall how the meaning has changed for me.

As a little tyke, I remember the family once going to Rochester, NY to visit the grave of and honor and celebrate the life of Benjamin Franklin Callender, my great grandfather who was an officer in the Civil War.  They called it Decoration Day.  Decoration Day evolved after the Civil War to honor the fallen war heroes.

In elementary school, we drew wreaths and flowers and hung them up on the wall to show honor to our military men.  I decorated my tricycle and rode in a neighborhood parade.

In High School, I belonged to the Mariners (the sailing branch of the Girl Scouts) In our official uniforms, we marched in a big community parade ending in Lakewood Park where a solemn ceremony was held to honor all military, followed by a family picnic in Lakewood Park, in Lakewood, Ohio.

That was a very poignant year, as WW II had just ended in Europe and was about to end in the Pacific theater.  Shortly after WWII the name of the celebration changed to, “Memorial Day”, which was much more appropriate, as it had become a day to remember all who had died for whatever reason –still heavily honoring the military.

Today, emphasis seems to be on back yard barbecues, parties and week-end get-aways.

“Lest we forget what so few have done for so many”:

Let us all honor the “National Moment of Remembrance”, at 3:00PM local time, established to nationally gather our thoughts together to give thanks for the gifts of those who have gone before us.

 FLANDERS FIELD BY JOHN MCCRAE

In Flanders Field the poppies blow

between the crosses, row on row

that mark our place; and in the sky

the larks, still bravely singing, fly

scarce heard amid the guns below

 

We are the dead.  Short days ago

we lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow.

loved, and were loved, and now we lie

In Flanders Field

 

Take up our quarrel with the foe:

to you from failing hands we throw

the torch; be yours to hold it high.

If ye break faith with us who die

we shall not sleep, though poppies grow

In Flanders Field

 

A.  To Not Forget:

Hero’s  step forward in times of great danger, need or duress

Many hero’s appeared this week for all of those endangered people in Oklahoma

They come from all walks of life

For disaster knows no bounds holds no restraint

Blessing to all who faced the wind, the rain, the terror

Thanks to those who lift a hand, step forward or say

“How can I help”

Where do you stand

Please make a donation to the American Red Cross / Oklahoma Disaster

Memorial Day is a day to honor the fallen of past wars

As a nation

We have built monuments great and small in praise and remembrance

of our fallen dead

The WALL ( Vietnam Veterans Memorial) is one of these extraordinary

Places that records the names of the Heroes who gave their lives in this war

The Mayaquez Incident is my personal experience during the Vietnam War,

these young hero’s in this photo were

My friends, 56 Security Police Squadron  members, US Air Force service members

I had been stationed there at Nakhon Phanom Thailand Royal Air Force Base

I had returned to the world the states a few months before this incident happen

So I did not die with them, but if I had been there I would have been in this photo

For we had been Brother in Arms together.

I have wept as I ran my fingers across their names on the WALL

Remembering their smiles, dumb jokes and stories about their lives back in the world

Rest easy, young men forever, I stand ready

To learn more about the Mayaquez Incident look it up on Wikipedia

The Mayaguez incident, which took place between the Khmer Rouge and the United States from May 12–15, 1975,

was the last official battle of the Vietnam War.

The names of the Americans killed, as well as those of three U.S. Marines who were left behind on the

island of Koh Tang after the battle and

who were subsequently executed by the Khmer Rouge, are the last names on the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

-1

These 23 U.S. airmen were killed when their helicopter crashed due to a mechanical error

Awesome! You’re each impressive in your own individual way, I love it!

Lewis, thank you for your service. We’re happy that you’ve made it this far. Everyone else, thank you, too, for making a difference in the lives of the people around you. We appreciate it.

I’d like to give a hearty thank you as well, to all current and former military personnel – thank you for all you do for us!

I hope everyone has a safe and love-filled holiday weekend. And I hope we all keep in mind – as Dottie reminded us – that there is more to the holiday than just BBQs and swimming pools.

That does it for this week’s Experts Panel. Thanks to each of you for being here – you rock! The Experts will return in exactly one week. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, the answer to the puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

A tricky one!

Let’s see how you answered:

Steph from Indianapolis wrote, “Too funny looking to be manufactured! Real.”

Tom from Midwestern Jungle wrote, “Fake”

Joseph Brenner wrote, “Real”

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Fake. A fake what? is the question… agave?”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “I’m going to guess fake. This is an oddity!”

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Looks far too symmetrical to be real, so – fake.”

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “Also going with fake.”

That’s two votes real, five votes fake.

So what’s the correct answer? Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Fake! I think it’s supposed to be an Orchid but I’m not sure. Maybe a Kalanchoe? The flowers are throwing me off. It was for sale at Target. Whatever it’s supposed to be, it’s ugly. A real Orchid would’ve been much prettier!

Steph, you were speedy, but you just missed guessing the correct answer. So that means Tom from the Midwestern Jungle was first with the correct answer. Well played, Tom! I know this one wasn’t easy. For being first with the correct answer, you’ve earned the title of “Premierest, Bestest, Most Savvy, of High Moral Fiber, Super Intelligent, Cuddlyest, Swiftest, and Most Dominant Expert in Houseplant Puzzlers and in Life in General.” So if you go to a BBQ this weekend and meet someone new, you should introduce yourself as Tom the Premierest, Bestest, Most Savvy, of High Moral Fiber, Super Intelligent, Cuddlyest, Swiftest, and Most Dominant Expert in Houseplant Puzzlers and in Life in General. I’m sure it’ll help you bond quickly with your new friends. Congrats! You may multiply all the prizes by peanut butter cookies.

You’re all winners in my book. I’d like to show my appreciation for your participation by awarding each of you the following prizes: A memorial to memorials, three celebratory torches, one crate of strawberries, 14 1/3 bonus points, a flock of seagulls, fun in the sun, 500 left turns, two flyovers, four flybys, an homage to songs about being home, one dainty race, 33 bragging rights, carrots, the pole position, one winner’s circle, a picnic, stars galore, chocolate ice cream and one summer’s beginning. Congratulations and thanks for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this tree real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, May 30th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

