Aaaahhhhh, Monday, Monday. I don’t hate Mondays like most people do. They’re usually pretty mellow.

And, on Mondays on my blog, I like to keep track of how my plants are growing. Which is cool for me.

Like the flowers and vegetables in my backdoor container garden:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

They’re growing pretty well!

I harvested my first beets, first chile peppers and first cherry tomatoes recently. So that’s awesome.

I’m still handwatering all the containers, but that’s changing as I’m (slowly) moving them to a drip irrigation system. I’m nervous about it! But I’m hoping the consistency will be worth it come July and August. The plants will be happier, I’m sure!

My onions are bolting, which makes for good photos (the first in the morning, the second in the afternoon):

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

But not for good onions. That’s ok. I’m the one who let them flower. I’m going to collect the seeds and see if I can’t get one container dedicated just to onions for next season. (I have a bad habit of throwing grocery-store bought onions into the ground or containers around my house, to see if I can grow them. But you’re supposed to grow onions from seed.)

The Thunbergia looks good these days:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

I fed the vine Epsom Salt a few weeks ago, and it has responded by tripling the number of blooms. (Almost all the plants in the containers reacted positively and visibly to the Epsom Salt.)

Some of you may remember a couple of summers ago that I chronicled how my landlady redid the front beds between the sidewalk and the street. We pulled out all the old Irises and planted all sorts of other plants in their place. In one section, I planted a bunch of herbs, including Tarragon (that was the same summer that I went on a big Béarnaise making kick) and Rosemary.

Fast forward to now, and that Tarragon plant is trying to take over the neighborhood. Here it is:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

It may not seem that big, but it’s already outgrown its neighbor, the Rosemary, by a lot:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

The monster plant is also trying to flower. I’ve read that the flowers will not produce seeds, so that’s not a part of the plant’s neighborhood takeover plan, but they are cool nonetheless:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

I have no idea if those will open any further. Be sure to stay glued to this website for updates! We’ll get all your Tarragon questions answered!

And finally, in other news, I have my first Cosmos bloom of 2013:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

I told him, “Hang in there little buddy, and you’ll soon be joined by 10,000 cousins.”

