The backdoor container garden’s coming along!

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

Mostly, everything’s been growing great. There are tons of tomatoes (minus all the cherry ones that I’ve been picking off and eating the moment they are ready), the peppers are growing, there are radishes, beets, oregano, basil, strawberries (well, a couple of them anyway) and garlic. All the flowers make me super happy.

But there are a few plants that aren’t doing as well.

Remember those onions that were blooming?

Well, I finally pulled them last week and was shocked to see the bottoms were wet and starting to rot. What? In an Albuquerque summer, I overwatered a container that has drainage holes??? That didn’t make sense.

Sure, there’s mulch to retain moisture and it was obviously doing its job. But really? All the planters are in full sun all day!

Besides, I’m the plant lady! Overwatering is supposed to be a rookie mistake!

Clearly, those onions must be liars.

Yes. That’s the only logical conclusion. I’m perfect and the onions are lying.

Stupid onions. I never liked them much anyway.

Ok, ok, I’ll admit I’m lying – I love onions. They’re decent and honest vegetables.

[Insert soul searching here.]

I musta goofed somewhere along the way.

Instead of dwelling on my mistake and beating myself up (what’s done is done!), I decided move forward and vowed to slow waaaay down on watering any of the containers.

Since that decision, it’s rained every day.

*facepalm*

(It’s against the law to complain about rain in the desert, so I am not doing that! Thank you rain gods!)

The excess moisture may explain why the Chayote seems to be holding still at this size:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

Dangit!

The excess moisture may also explain why the Bougainvillea lost all its colorful bracts (they’re making a wonderful comeback already) and why the Osteospermum stopped flowering a couple of weeks ago.

Double dangit.

I’m really not perfect? That is SHOCKING news.

[Insert more soul searching here.]

I guess I’m left with no choice but to accept that I’m a mere mortal with flaws like everyone else. Sigh.

Haha, I’m teasing, of course. I’ve known for ages that I’m not perfect and that I’m going to make mistakes.

No one likes to admit their mistakes – especially not on a public forum like a blog – but I personally am not attached the idea of being right, so it’s ok. It’s not the first time and it won’t be the last.

So.

Anyway.

Moving on.

In houseplant news, there’s this:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

I am beside myself to see what these little Echeveria flowers are going to look like in a day or two (finally, after weeks of anticipation).

Also, Lady Everymore, an Aeschynanthus plant, is blooming again and bringing joy to the kingdom:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants

For every fail, hopefully there are two wins. Or three. Or four. Or five…

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

