Hello cookiemonstahs, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Our beloved Experts on are on a much-deserved break, so let’s admire their adorableness:

 

And move on to the plant puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this plant was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “That is the fakest variagated geranium leaf Ive ever seen.”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “Looks so terribly fake!”

Jason from Garden in a City wrote, “Fake.”

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “Fake, fake, fake!

I might have some puzzler pictures for you again. But right now, I have too much else on my mind.”

Joseph Brenner wrote, “It’s a 100% certified genuine fake.”

That’s five votes fake, zero votes real.

(And yes, Ivy and everyone, if you get the chance, puzzler pictures are always welcome – thank you!)

What’s the correct answer? Let’s take a wider view:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Fake! And so confusing. It’s maybe a Geranium mixed with strawberries mixed with Heather??? I can’t tell what the heck those plants are even supposed to be! I can tell that they are ugly. Plastic can’t compete with the beauty of real plants.

You all nailed it. I’m not surprised since you are so knowledgeable about plants. Well played!

Señor Claude, you were first with the correct answer this week, which makes you the best answerer. Again! Good job! For being so speedy, you have earned the following title for the week: “My Brain Is as Big as Texas, My Heart Is Twice That, and I Can Spot a Fake Plant from 100 Paces, All of Which Makes Me Awesomely Cool and King of the Houseplant Blog Universe for Yet Another Week.”

Let’s say you’re at a cocktail party this weekend and you meet someone new. You should introduce yourself as Claude My Brain Is as Big as Texas, My Heart Is Twice That, and I Can Spot a Fake Plant from 100 Paces, All of Which Makes Me Awesomely Cool and King of the Houseplant Blog Universe for Yet Another Week. I’m sure you’ll form lifelong bonds! Congratulations! You may multiply all the prizes by croissants.

Thanks to all of you who played. To show my appreciation, I’d like to award each of you the following prizes: A grip of July days, six noodles, four dimples, 14 bragging rights, two free tickets to the honkytonk of your choice, a bag of chocolate-covered lemon drops, one bespectacled tree frog, three hours, a purple hammock, 10 1/2 bonus points, refreshing tea, a jar of marbles, some spare change, a high five and a very merry kudos to you. Congrats, and thanks for playing!

I’ll be back – or rather, the blog will be back – tomorrow with the continuing Albuquerque series scheduled in my absence. Hope you have a good weekend, everyone!

