A bit of a departure here – this obviously isn’t a cooking blog. But since it involves one of my favorite plants, and since I’m unsatisfied with the usual Wednesday posts, I figured it was ok.

In case I haven’t already shouted this from the rooftops, I love, love, love Rosemary. As a friend jokes, “it smells like red meat.” Seriously though, I love cooking with Rosemary…I even love simply walking past my Rosemary bush and catching a whiff of its scent. It’s heavenly.

Rosemary Mozzarella Skewers Recipe

I think the idea of using Rosemary stalks as skewers is clever – I’m excited to try it myself. My Aunt Cathy Dillon told me about the recipe while we were in Wisconsin, and forwarded it to me. Thanks Cathy!

The recipe comes from the Pioneer Woman’s blog (Ree Drummond), you can see the original post by clicking here. This photo comes from her blog as well:

4683751179_a016cbbc31_b

They look delicious!

Here’s the recipe from her blog:

Rosemary Mozzarella Skewers

Prep Time:
30 Minutes
Cook Time:
Difficulty:
Easy
Servings:
12

Ingredients

  • Stalks Of Fresh Rosemary
  • Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Cut Into 1-inch Cubes
  • Marinated Artichoke Hearts, Drained
  • Black Or Kalamata Olives, Drained
  • Salami, Sliced Thin And Folded Into Fourths
  • 1/2 Cup Olive Oil
  • 3 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
  • Pinch Of Salt
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper (lots!)
  • Sprinkle Of Ground Thyme

Preparation Instructions

Strip all but 1 to 2 inches of rosemary leaves from stems. (Leave leaves intact at the top of the stem.)

Use stem to spear cheese cubes, artichoke hearts, olives, and salami in whatever order you’d like.

Mix dressing ingredients until emulsified, then drizzle over the top of the skewers. Serve immediately or refrigerate for later.>>>>

She wrote that her friend had refrigerated them overnight so the Rosemary had a nice long time to infuse into the ingredients. Thank you, Ree’s friend Missy, for your delicious-sounding recipe!

What do you guys think – would you try this recipe?

