Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Sooooo, it’s been raining a LOT in New Mexico lately. You might think that’s great news for our drought-ridden state, and it is mostly. But it’s also wreaking havoc – flooding towns, washing away homes, damaging roads, forcing evacuations. In Madrid, NM, the rain washed coal off the mountain down into the businesses and homes below. The Red Cross had to open shelters all over the state. It’s been kind of a mess.

But not for me.

The flowers and vegetables at my house have been loving the rain. (With one exception, which I’ll get to in a minute.)

The rain finally got the Cosmos blooming, for which I’m very grateful. I’d expected prolific blooms in August but there had only been a spattering of them. Now they’re exploding with growth.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Oh, how I love them so! You can expect about fifty billion more photos of them in the coming weeks.

The rain also helped the little Zauschneria ‘California fuchsia’ I planted by the front door get blooming:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I love those bright red blooms!

The rain has been helping the new Chayote plant grow:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

The ones I’d planted earlier in the year are still hanging on but they sure aren’t growing much. So I planted a new one a few weeks back and it’s looking good! I’m hoping that our growing season extends far enough into November to allow for the plant to produce some fruit. It’s a long shot, but a gal can hope.

The flowers that have not been happy with the rain are the Portulaca. Because I was silly enough to plant them in a container with no drainage. Sorry Portulacas!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Wanh, wanh, wanh. Who knew there would be this much rain??? If it were me watering the Portulacas, they’d be underwatered not overwatered. They’re not dead but they are decidedly washed out looking. I’m crossing my fingers for a comeback for them.

I’m thankful that the rain hasn’t adversely affected me personally. My heart goes out to all those folks who have been forced out of their homes. Floods are no fun. Here’s to hoping they can recover soon.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

 

