I haven’t given Marigolds the credit they deserve. I planted them because everyone says they ward off pests (not true from my experience, but maybe there aren’t enough of them to make a difference). My expectation that the flowers would be workhorses probably started us off on the wrong foot.

Instead, they’ve been a consistently cheerful presence all summer long, and they are set to continue well into fall. And I’ve decided I really like how they smell.

Plus, they’re pretty!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Marigold Love

Some are reddish, some more orange, some a combo of both. Bright splashes of color that greet me every morning. What’s not to like about that?

Also, I haven’t deadheaded them a single time all summer long – I can only imagine how much more prolific they may have been if I had.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Marigold Love

So I apologize, Marigolds, for underestimating you!

In other news, you still have time to guess the current plant puzzler, in which I asked if this flower was real or fake:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

You can leave your best guess in the comments section. The deadline is tonight at midnight, MST (that’s 2am EST).

If you can’t get your guess in by midnight, that’s ok. I’m going to be working in Santa Fe all day tomorrow so I won’t have time to post the Experts panel until late in the afternoon or evening. So if you need a little extra time, you can have it.

Even though it will be later than I’d like, the Experts will be back tomorrow with an all-new question. It will likely be the last new panel for a few weeks, as the Experts have a much-deserved break approaching. (Nothing is set in stone just yet, I will let you know.) I’ll also have a new plant puzzler for you. Hope to see you back here!

