Last week, I was talking to a friend who had recently moved into a new house and asked me for a plant recommendation. Without hesitating, I told her to get a lemon tree.

Lemon trees are great indoors. Showy yellow fruit, heavenly scent of the blossoms. Given the choice, why wouldn’t you want lemons growing in your living room?

In modern day houses, there aren’t huge temperature shifts that might negatively impact citrus trees (or any houseplant). If you can give them a sunny spot and maybe a humidifier or mist them occasionally, there’s no reason why citrus trees wouldn’t make great houseplants. There are all sorts of hybrids out there designed for optimal lemon production, too.

I’ve had my lime tree for a long time, and have been meaning to acquire a lemon for myself, too. After that conversation, I decided to go out and get one.

Isn’t she a beauty?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my new lemon tree

Loaded with buds and open blooms:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, my new lemon tree

I’d like to get her out of that cramped growers pot into a bigger container, but I’m not sure if I should. I don’t want the buds to drop. I could wait until spring, after the lemons have been harvested (because I don’t want the fruit to drop, either). Part of me thinks maybe I should repot her sooner rather than later – give her a bigger pot before she starts forming fruit, help her ease into the winter months.

What do you think? I’d welcome your suggestions. And name suggestions for the newest member of Team Liza.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here!

