Hello everyone!

My regular readers know that I live in downtown Albuquerque. Our growing season is long, even though the city is located at 5,000 feet above sea level. I can remember eating Thanksgiving dinner outside more than once. That’s desert life for ya.

Still, it’s been chilly, and has dipped below freezing enough to kill off most of the flowers. But not all of them.

When I was without a laptop for that week recently, I ended up spending a lot of time outside. Cleaning and doing garden chores to prepare for winter. And taking tons of photos.

Since I missed the November Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day a few days ago, I’ll just show you today what’s blooming around the house, starting with the backdoor container garden:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Lots of cheerful flowers, including the Gazanias, the Alyssum, the Zauschneria (California fuchsia), the Osteospermum and at least some of the Marigolds. Oh, and a few Gaillardia (Blanket Flower).

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Most of the Cosmos have been knocked out, but some remain. And look who’s trying to grow next to them – I think those are my Irises!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Nobody told them that it’s the wrong season! Silly flowers.

Inside, this Echeveria is trying to pull the wool over my eyes:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

She knows that I’m hesitant to prune her because of the flower stalk – and she’s right – but she doesn’t know that the Euphorbia miliis tried a similar trick to avoid pruning, and I eventually did it anyway. Pruning is for her own good – look, she’s practically falling over (the rosette on the right is producing the flower stem):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

(Clearly her strategy has been working for several weeks months now, as the above is an older photo.) She better watch out, because I will not be tricked again!

Two of the three Schlumbergeras (Christmas Cactus) are blooming again, as is the Lemon tree, and the Chlorophytums (Spider plants). I’ll save those for December’s Garden Blogger Bloom Day. The outdoors should be covered in snow by then, so I’ll be glad to have my indoor flowers to amuse me until spring.

Before I go, check out this hilarious little guy:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I guess he’s letting me know what he thinks about my little indoor windowsill tomato garden idea! It totally cracked me up.

I’ll probably be back with a new post tomorrow, but with the recent technology bustup – and the subsequent enjoyment of being offline – I’m not sure. I kinda liked not being able to blog in the sense that it forced me to do other stuff, which were cooler things than anything I was doing online. So now I have mixed feelings. At least about the Monday through Saturday schedule that I’ve been maintaining for a long time now. Lately that seems a little much. But we’ll see how things go, ok? Thank you for your patience, and for visiting my site.

(Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Check out her blog!)

