Well, this experiment is going better than I’d expected. The first fruit is forming!

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, 2013 The Great Indoor Tomato Growing Experiment

When I first lopped off the growing stems of some of my tomato plants, my expectation was that I would be able to keep them alive in water through the winter, and I wouldn’t have to buy new plants next season. I set the bar low.

They had some flowers when I first brought them inside, and the stems continued to flower in the foyer. So every day I would tap the stems to move the pollen around (“I am wind, hear me roar”) and apparently that was good enough for the tomatoes.

I moved them from water to soil a few weeks ago, and since then the plants have stopped flowering but they are shooting up in height. I’m gonna have to stake them, and probably move them into a bigger container, too. Here they are in their south-facing windowsill:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, 2013 The Great Indoor Tomato Growing Experiment

Living beside the basil, just like outdoors.

Even though I initially set the bar low, now I have exaggeratedly high expectations of actually bringing tomatoes to harvest. In my foyer.

That would be so cool.

I’ll be back tomorrow with plant puzzler action. Hope to see you back here.

