Hello peppermint sticks, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

Our beloved Experts on are on a much-deserved break for the holidays, so let’s admire their adorableness:

 

And move on to the plant puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if this tree was real or fake:

good to grow, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Fake. Not too bad as fakes go… but fake.”

Ivynettle from Letters and Leaves wrote, “A little hard to tell from this picture, but I’ll say fake as well.

(And your titles and prizes never fail to make me laugh. I’m always in awe of the things you come up with.)

Aw, thanks Ivy!

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “Yep, fake.”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “I’m going with fake, too!”

That’s four votes fake, zero votes real.

What’s the correct answer?

Let’s take a closer look:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Super fake. Not the worst looking fake I’ve ever seen. But I still prefer real trees. They always look better and I believe they improve the ambiance in a room.

Everyone nailed it again. And again, I’m not surprised. You guys continually amaze me with your plant knowledge and keen eyes. Well played. Thank you!

Claude, you were first with the correct answer, so that makes you the best answerer. Quick draw McGraw, houseplant-style. For being so speedy, this week you’ve earned the following epithet: The Swiftest, Premierest, Numero Unoest, of High Patriotic Character, Swear Wordiest, Voice of a Punk Rock Angelest, Wisest, of Large Plant Intellect and Other Kinds of Intellect too, Dapperest, Dignifiedest, Grandest Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and So On.

Let’s say this weekend you’re at the flea market working, and a kooky little fellow wearing a Confederate Army uniform approaches your booth. Before he can open his mouth and begin spewing, I want you to bellow, My Name Is Claude The Swiftest, Premierest, Numero Unoest, of High Patriotic Character, Swear Wordiest, Voice of a Punk Rock Angelest, Wisest, of Large Plant Intellect and Other Kinds of Intellect too, Dapperest, Dignifiedest, Grandest Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and So On. I’ll bet he’ll run, run like the wind. And then you can get back to work. Oh, and feel free to sprinkle curse words throughout the epithet. I didn’t include them here because this is a wholesomeish blog, haha.

So congrats, Claude. You may multiply all the prizes by red, white and blue.

Everyone’s a winner. To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like to award you each the following prizes: One glittery weekend, green chile stew, five jingle bells, two cream colored pillows, a Dracaena marginata, 12 pieces of homemade (by me) rocky road candy, a constellation named in your honor, 14 3/4 extra credit points, three celebratory evenings, one diminutive and mostly cheerful lion, a set of bonus shoulders, 16 more congratulations, a platter of wishes, one San Mateo Boulevard, a toast to a better tomorrow, six elfish moments, four sunrises, one genie in a bottle, and blessings galore. Congratulations, and thanks so much for playing.

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this plant real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, December 19th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) next Friday. Remember, the prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

I should be back tomorrow but I’m making no promises because I’ll be traveling for a few days. I love the holiday season! See you soon!

