Ummm, I guess I left this yellow onion sitting in my kitchen a little too long:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, the little onion that wanted to grow

Doh!

I think most of you know what a softie I am. I see something trying to grow, and I feel compelled to help it.

In the case of this onion, what am I supposed to do? If I put it in the ground, it’s not going to grow another onion, because, you know, it already is one. Onions grow from seeds, sets or transplants. Even if I cut this onion to stimulate growth, it’s too late for fall planting and too early for spring planting in Albuquerque so it wouldn’t work either.

But still – look at it. It wants to grow!

I decided, what the heck. I’ll see if I can get blooms. Allium flowers are cool looking.

So I sliced off the top:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, the little onion that wanted to grow

Ew! I’m not eating that.

I planted the top in a separate container from where I’m growing red onions from sets (I planted those in November, along with lots of garlic):

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, the little onion that wanted to grow

Hopefully it will look like the onion that bolted last spring:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, My Backdoor Container Garden Oasis

And eventually look like this one I had in the front yard last May:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, May 2013 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

That would be nice!

I’ll keep you posted on what happens, if anything, with the onion sprouts. Anyone want to place any friendly wagers on the outcome?

I know most of the rest of the country is experiencing dangerously cold weather, snow and ice. I don’t mean to rub it in that I just planted that sprout this morning. There’s a reason I don’t live in the Midwest or on the East Coast anymore. I do not like being cold! It’s still cold here – I have to scrape my windshield every morning – but I know it’s nothing like what the rest of you are going through. Stay safe out there, stay warm.

I’m sure it seems a long way off, but it’s not – we’ll be sending spring your way very soon.

