Oh dear.

What happened here?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

That does not look good! Well, the green part looks cool but the violent breakage isn’t nice.

Wasn’t I just bragging a few days ago about how awesome my white Hippeastrum is, that I got from my awesome cousin Bill? I showed you this photo of the flower’s beauty:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Hippeastrum flowers

Later that same night, the flowers looked like this:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

It appears that somebody got a little too top heavy and just tumbled right on over, breaking his neck and spilling his guts all over the floor. I was in the kitchen making dinner and heard a thunkish tearing noise. Doh! I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised – he had gotten quite tall in the days leading up to his accident.

My cousin Bill sent two Amaryllis bulbs this year, and the second one was almost as tall as the first. So I found a spot for her where she won’t fall over:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

Shew! Safe and sound – another white-flowering Hippeastrum! I love them!

I felt really bad that the flowering stems of the first bulb broke off, so I’d stuck them in water. The next morning, I put the vase on the windowsill. Later that day (yesterday), the flowers looked like this:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

Fun! They’re determined to shine!

Let’s see…what else is blooming around the house? Oh right, one of the Euphorbia milii ‘Crown of Thorns’ plants is:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

So cute!

Also blooming, the Osmanthus from Ginny, although the silly little blossoms are so tiny it makes a good photograph difficult:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

The basil is blooming its little heart out. I tried to stop it, but there are only so many times you can say no to a basil plant who wants to bloom:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

And lastly, I thought I would be doing some more bragging on my gorgeous lemon tree and its prolific blossoms. Sadly, that’s not the case due to a minor calamity that befell the poor tree. Ok, maybe a major calamity. Only these blooms remain open:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, January 2014 Garden Bloggers' Bloom Day

So what was the calamity? Well geez, howz about I tell youse all abouts it tomorrowz? (Haha, it’ll take me a little while to make up a good story – the truth is dreadfully boring!)

Thanks to Carol over at May Dreams Gardens for suggesting we post photos of what’s blooming in and around the house on the 15thish of each month. She’s a lovely host, you should check out her blog.

Non-blogging friends, do you have any photos of blooming houseplants you’d like me to post? How about I post them this weekend, so you don’t have to race to get them to me. If no one has anything blooming now, I’ll ask again in mid-February.

