Noteworthy in the casa this week:

The Hippeastrum that didn’t tumble over and break looks absolutely stunning – every day it gets prettier than the day before:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Swoon! Those flowers make me smile! Thanks again, Bill Fox, you’re the best!

In other news, I said I would explain the calamity the befell the lemon tree and caused this mess:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I may have exaggerated a bit…or a lot…it wasn’t really a major calamity, the tree just got thirsty and dropped her petals.

Well, dropped most of them. There is some sticky goo involved with citrus blossoms, so lots of the petals didn’t fall on their own, like these that needed help to the floor:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Ew. Sticky!

But not much of a calamity. I felt too guilty to make up a story. The petals would’ve fallen off eventually anyway, so it’s not like I was going to avoid a mess. Plants are not tidy creatures. Still, I was sad to see the flowers go, I missed their scent immediately.

The tree itself recovered just fine, and it’s covered with teeny lemons where those flowers used to be. Here’s what she looks like now:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

And some of the baby lemons:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

I counted 59 of them. Obviously, not all of those are going to grow to full size. Especially not if I keep letting the tree get thirsty! I’d be thrilled with three or four of them.

When I got into the thick of cleaning up after the lemon tree in the foyer, I realized I had to do something with the tomato plant while I was at it.

The silly plant isn’t supposed to be growing as fast as he is. He was supposed to chillin’, taking a winter holiday. Instead, he’s reaching for the ceiling.

He needed to be staked, and he needed more soil.

Buuuuut, I didn’t really want to repot him. So I improvised – I stuck his little pot onto a bigger pot of soil, like this:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

The hope is that the plant’s roots will grow through the holes on the bottom of the small pot (if the roots haven’t wrapped themselves into a ball yet) into the soil below, doubling the amount of soil they can access. (The rocks are there to stabilize the cage, which is top heavy and too big for the house, but it’s all I had handy.)

The plant will go outside in just a few months, so he doesn’t have to put up with the crazy growing conditions for long. He doesn’t seem to mind – he’s been flowering every day:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

And the biggest fruit is starting to turn red:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's plants

Good To Grow, Liza's tomato plant

At this rate, he’ll be ten feet tall by the time I get him outside! And what – up to the roof by August??? Crazy tomato plant!

Tomorrow I’ll be back with a round of Garden NonBloggers’ Bloom Day, for all of you out there who want to share your flower photos but don’t have blogs of your own. If you would like to submit some pics, email them to me.

I hope to see you back here!

