Hmmm…someone’s getting all bendy again:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Izzy the Kalanchoe

That’s Izzy, my Kalanchoe rhombopilosa or ‘Pies of Heaven.’

Izzy thinks that if she grows fast enough, she can eventually touch the ceiling. I’m not one to squash anyone’s dreams, but from what I’ve seen of her the last three years, she’s not gonna make it. I wish her well in her journey, blah, blah, blah, but she’s not meant to be a tall plant. It’s true – she’ll always be short.

Shortish, anyway. For her clan, she can get fairly tall before she falls over – about six inches tall. I used to think she was thirsty when she did that, but now I know that her stems can’t support her own weight. At least not sustainably.

That doesn’t stop her from trying. Because she’s such an enthusiastic grower, she grows up, she tips over, I cut her. Then she grows up, she tips over, I cut her. We’ve been dancing to the same song for awhile now.

I knew I wanted to mix it up.

I thought maybe it would be fun if I planted her in a way that celebrated her vertically challenged life. I was pretty sure I could find a way to help her shine in her own element.

I started, again, by cutting her to pieces:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Izzy the Kalanchoe

Then I tried something new.

I planted the leaves to spell a cursive L, for Liza:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Izzy the Kalanchoe

Haha! I love it. I hope she never grows up.

