Hello angels, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

It’s Friday again, and we’re happy about that. It’s almost the end of February, and we’re happy about that, too. It’s been so springlike in the Southwest that it’s difficult not to look ahead to March. Or maybe we’re just impatient, haha!

One way to ease the pain of February is by turning our attention to my ever-charming Panel of Experts. Let’s say hi to them now. Hi everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

You’re so cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

For this week’s topic, I thought it would be fun to look to the skies. So I asked our Experts the following question:

Q. If you discovered a new celestial body (a comet, new planet, constellation), what would you name it?

Expert Andy Williams, you’re up first as usual:

A. I’m a big fan of celestial bodies.  Like Jennifer Aniston.  So, I’d probably just name it Jennifer Aniston.

A. It depends on the type of celestial body I discovered. If I were to discover a comet, I would name it Thack’s Comet because, well, I discovered a freaking comet and I want my (nick)name associated with it. A planet would be Vulcan or Romulus because I am a giant Star Trek nerd, and everyone knows Vulcans and Romulans are the coolest races in Star Trek. I guess I’d go with Carprica for a constellation, both as an homage to Battlestar Galactica and to the sign of the zodiac under which I was born.

Digression: I am entirely comfortable being a sci-fi nerd. I have been since I was 6 and I’ve heard all the jokes at this point. Sticks and stones. Second, when I was a kid I wanted to be the captain of the Enterprise because it was awesome and I wanted to shoot stuff with phasers and fight Kilingons. As a grown man, I still want to be the captain of the Enterprise, only now it’s because I just want people to do what I want without giving me any lip. And because of the women.

Deeper digression: will we ever again see an actor as gloriously awful as William Shatner?

A. For a comet:

Sed per

For a star:

Lumen oculorum a noctem

For a planet with life:

Hortus Edenis

For a planet without life:

Sola terra caelum

—————————–

Normally our beloved Expert Dottie Correll is up next, but she is unavailable this week (don’t worry – she’s awesome). Let’s admire her adorableness:

And move on to Expert Lewis Casey. Lewis, what say you, fine sir?

A. In the past when dinosaurs ruled the earth they dominated the landscape, these monstrosities lumbered from place to place intimating the smaller and slower entities and everyone had to have one.

Huh,  oh you must be think about those old  blood and guts, skin and bone creatures, T Rex, Triceratops, Barosaurus africanus or all the others creatures, No not them.

I’m speaking of those metal beasts such as the 1965 Chevy Impala, 1969 Buick Regal,  1972 Ford Lincoln Continental,  1968 Chevy Camaro Super Sport, 1970 Dodge Road Runner all fire breathing and gas passing metal behemoths.

We all had one or our parents did and we rode in them like we owned the world, get the hell out of my way the road is mine.

In 1976 we went to a Jefferson Airplane or Jefferson Starship or Jefferson Half-Wit concert, I was a young man full of piss and vinegar

The world my plum, riding in my friend’s Rusty Buckets or that what we he call him, but he was christened William Parridge or at least that was what his Massachusetts ID said. He said never to call him that, I think he was hiding out from someone maybe the good  or bad guys.

So Rusty Bucket he was, he always or so it seemed have a bucket full of recreational treats, Green stuff, little round white stuff, organic earthy stuff, and lots of little colored papers that had dark spots in the middle

This concert we went, his old car 1958 filled with people of all size, shapes and conditions, for we had driven up from LVNM 120 miles away

The beer and wine flowed the smoke rose up and we got to ABQ in great shape, skunker then a drunk

The Jefferson whoevers concert was conducted at the old Albuquerque Coliseum which now rest under the new Heart Hospital a fine health care facility just not a great fun place like of old

We staggered, stumbled, crawled supporting each other till we got into our seats or on to the floor close by, we did not care the party was just starting and we were in

Those Jefferson guys/gals played their heart out,  though it was hard to see the stage because the smoke was thick enough to walk on

It was like the fire occupancy code did not exist then because the place was packed to the rafters

Out of the fog /smog Rusty’s face appeared, in his hand a couple of small colored papers with dark spots

“Try this guys” he speaks to Mario and me, like good idiots and  drunks with a head full of smoke we reached out and gather a new poison

Rusty disappears off to spread more of his cheer to the other idiot in our mob

“What the hell is it”  I ask Mario as he tossed it in his mouth

“Beat hell out of me” says he turning back to scream more at the stage

Oh what the hell I thought as I took my share of the poison

The rest of the concert passes in a blur, reality distorted and fuzzy, I felt like puking or climbing the walls or both,  it was not something I liked,

Drunk, stoned sure that was ok, but tripping not my ball of wax

You are probably wondering where in the world is he going with this, but hold on there is a point in this madness

After the concert somehow or other we staggered, stumbled, crawled out of there and ended up who knows where

But I was told later we spent the night at a friend of a friend of a friend’s house and the party went on

Now maybe I didn’t like that crap on the colored paper, but my arm wasn’t broken and I could still hold a beer

Sometime in the insanity of this drunken and drug fueled stupor, Mario and I collapsed in a corner and pouring out our wishes and ideas  of what we were going to be when we grew up

Hey hey man I’m going to, Im going to, Im going to be a rock star

To which he says “Yeah you can’t sing crap”

Well then I going to write

To which he says “ Yeah you can’t write crap either ”

I shut up and cried in my beer

Mario say ‘I want a family, a job, a nice house, money in my pocket, kids and grandkids”

He comes from a large family, good hard working people from Northern New Mexico, Good person he is Two girls and a handful of grandkids, happy he is a fine upstanding man in the community

Now me I want another beer, a fast car, a big hat, a big house, lots of money and the open road

I got wheels on my feet, I said

But if I ever did stop and had a family I wanted two kids, a boy and a girl

Now when you are under the influence you can have great and incredibly stupid thoughts and ideas

I’m going to call my son” Laca laca laca Boom”, great sounding name

My daughter would be” Nicatina” which I thought sounded like a beautiful name

I finally passed out there on the floor I guess and life went on

Years have passed I’ve been blessed, love of family & friend, lots of travels, luck and charm A love of my life, Two sons no daughters neither called Laca laca laca Boom

To my great delight the other night watching the Olympics there was a lady skier ready to race down the hill

To my thrill her name was NICATINA something or other, I fell in love with her my daughter

I do not think she made the medal round but that’s ok she made me proud

So I would call the heaven NICATINA after my long lost love

See there was a point in my rambles and writing

This has all been a figment of my imagination I deny it ever happened

I think

*Claps enthusiastically*

Bravo, bravo! Well done everyone, well done! I enjoyed those answers very much. You continue to amaze me with your unique take on the world.

Thanks so much to each of you for being here. I really appreciate your time and effort. Thanks again!

That does it for this week’s Panel of Experts. The Experts will return next Friday. They hope to see you back here.

Up next, your guesses to the current puzzler:

???Name That Species???

I decided to mix things up a bit with a new puzzler, in which I asked you to name this species of tree:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Carmen wrote, “They’re bottle trees!! I hear they’re really hard to grow, and getting seeds from them are next to impossible.”

Joseph Brenner wrote, “Those look like Pinot Pines, introduced from the Champagne region of France. The ancients believed they could trap evil spirits. But modern research suggests they were hearing the “ghostly” moan of the wind across the bottlenecks.(B>{D>”

Liz from Jemez Springs wrote, “Hienies? I don’t know if I even spelled that right,

Becky from the Plants and Stones blog wrote, “Could it be Bottle brush? Perhaps it is a desert relative of Scotch broom.”

Hahaha, I like those! Creative and funny. I wonder if the owners heard a moan from the neighborhood association. (Ba dum bum!)

Carmen! You were first with a guess, which makes you this week’s winner. Well played! For being so speedy, you’ve earned this epithet for the weekend: I’m Fast Like a Comet, Beautiful Like the Stars and If You Could Just Go Ahead and Fetch Me a Glass of Wine, That’d Be Great.

So for example, if you’re at an event this weekend and meet someone new, you should introduce yourself as Carmen I’m Fast Like a Comet, Beautiful Like the Stars and If You Could Just Go Ahead and Fetch Me a Glass of Wine, That’d Be Great. I’m sure it won’t be weird at all.

Congratulations Carmen! You may multiply all the prizes by angel food cake.

Everyone’s a winner this week. To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like to award you each the following prizes: One heavenly hurray, three intergalactic wishes, 14 1/2 bonus points, six universal rewards, Tang, two cosmic earlobes, seven galaxies, 12 gold stars, enchiladas, four solar coupons, one no-expenses paid vacation to the planet of your choice, a meteor ride, an extra pair of angel wings and one-third more prizes. Congrats, and thanks for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Is this flower real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section or on my facebook wall. You have until midnight next Thursday, February 27th, MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. The prizes may be imaginary but the link to your site and the glory of winning are oh-so-real.

