The lemon tree in the foyer is looking good:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's lemon tree

The lemons are still green, my anticipation is building.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's lemon tree

I should name her one of these days.

The tree had a bout of spider mites for a few weeks. Not a big deal. It’s almost quaint how easy they are to eliminate, compared to say, mealy bugs or scale. (I use a spray mixture of half water, half rubbing alcohol and a few drops of dish soap.)

It’s amazing to me how after you’ve had houseplants for awhile, spider mites become the most welcome of all the pests – I’m practically fond of them! I mean, ew, they’re gross, but thank goodness that they’re not more vicious. Or persistent.

I was tempted to haul the tree outside to spray it with the hose, but I didn’t want to risk losing the ripening lemons by knocking them off in transit. So I cleaned the leaves by hand and did some general pampering.

Hopefully the tree can spend all her energy on finishing her fruit.

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Liza's lemon tree

