Hello Maybirds, and happy Friday!

Welcome back to the Good To Grow site, and thanks for being here.

It’s not an ordinary Friday around here. Not only is it the first Friday in May, but it’s also the day we welcome back our beloved Experts, who have been on a much-deserved break.

Let’s give a little woohoo to them coming back. I didn’t even have to bribe them very much!

We’ll get our Friday action started by saying hi – Hi Everyone!

 

“Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Liza!”

So cute! From left to right, that’s Andy Williams, Tim Thackaberry, EZ Ed Johnson, Dottie Correll and Lewis Casey. If you’d like to know more about them, please click here.

The questions in the coming weeks are designed to help you get to know the Experts a little better. I’m hoping you’ll see why I’m as fond of them as I am. They’re wonderful people, each contributing to the world in their unique way.

For this week, we’re going to keep it simple, per Lewis’s request, here’s this week’s question:

Q. How was your break?

Expert Andy, you’re up first, fine sir:

A. My break was pretty interesting all in all.  My favorite brew pub San Tan Brewery unleashed its latest version of Mr. Pineapple, which is a wheat style beer with just a hint of pineapple.  And boy is it yummy!  I was there for the tapping event.  So far, I’m up to 11 pints consumed as I have vowed to count them this year during the brewing period through September.  Look for it wherever you are and try it.  It is very refreshing.  If you don’t like it drop me a note and I’ll give you my address.

I watched UConn beat Kentucky, thank God, in a lesser of two evils kind of way.  And yes, I am part of the contingent who thinks that Tom Crean is a below average coach.  I’ll leave it at that.

I also went to China for 2 weeks for my job.  That happens about 4 times per year and this was #1.  That was ok, my plane didn’t disappear into thin air and I made it back healthy despite losing 3 lbs. due to a dietary adjustment brought about by being somewhere else other than home.  People seem to think China is an exciting and incredible place to visit.  The exciting part is being in a car navigating traffic.  The best I can describe it is to imagine a place with people who didn’t learn how to drive until recently driving totally offensively.  You know, remember ‘defensive driving’ skills?  Well, they don’t have those.  They don’t look to their left or right for fear of making eye contact with the driver who is about to T-bone them.  That would sign weakness and allow the T-boning driver to pull into your path and take the place in front of you.  And then, when that happens, traffic gets bogged down by the braking and pulling out, and then a traffic jam ensues.  When that happens a 2 lane road turns into a 5 lane road with every driver seeking  to find a way around the ‘temporary’ stopped cars.  Then there is chaos.  Imagine a 2 lane road, with the original lanes now blocked in each direction, with 3 lanes in the middle literally going in all different directions.  Sound “exciting and incredible”?

Glad to be back ya’ll

A. My break was very nice, thanks for asking! I had family in town for a few days, got my ass kicked at work (as far as asses actually get kicked in the corporate world), and bought plane tickets to Paris & Dublin this summer. I was all over the map during this break!

A. Work. Lots of work. Editing stories. Plotting sports pages. Listening to complaints, sources , confused readers, bosses. Jotting notes. Telling stories. It was interrupted by occasional walks, watching the promise of pink and white blossoms on trees yawning back to life, stopping to smell yellow roses growing wild just beyond someone’s yard.

A.

ROSES ARE RED

VIOLETS ARE BLUE

MY HIATUS WAS AN EXCITING EVENT

SEE BELOW TO SEE HOW IT WENT!

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 11.36.43 PM

A REINCARNATED NIGHT WITH DEAN & JERRY

UNFORGETTABLE! ENCHANTING, AND SOOOOOOO MERRY!

A. Hi welcome nice to be back

A lost little old man on the street, I helped him with his jacket his left arm could not find his right

I helped him find both but he was no less lost.

I walked among a gaggle of children they made my heart sing they were not lost.

Their path clear, their eyes open.

On Easter Saturday in a store a little lady with two tall 45oz Micky beers in her empty cart, holds two large glass Jesus candles, I smirk as I pass.

She looks at me and says “I can have a drink while I pray”

I have always loved honey so now I’m going to become a beekeeper and help save the world or at least a few bees.

Peace.

Oh, how I’ve missed you so! Everyone, welcome back, thank you, thank you.

I found your answers interesting, to say the least. Dottie, I don’t even know what to say, you have me giggling with your photo! I have so many questions. Fellas, I enjoyed hearing about how each of you is leaving your mark on the world.

Readers? What do you think? Are my Experts crazy or what? Haha, crazy charming!

It’s good to hear from the Experts again. As I mentioned earlier, we’ll continue this quest to get to know them a little better in the coming weeks. I’m looking forward to that, I hope you are as well.

That’ll do it for this week’s Panel of Experts. The Experts will be back next Friday. They look forward to seeing you back here.

Now, let’s move on to the puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Last week, I asked if these plants were real or fake, and I said it might be a trick question:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Let’s see how you answered:

Claude from Random Rants and Prickly Plants wrote, “Well, those are real lucky bamboo… but then lucky bamboo is fake bamboo, and really draceana sanderiana, or draceana braunii, it depends on who you ask. And thenthere seems to be some other things mixed in there. .. certainly some fake flowers.. . Its all rather annoying actually.”

Bonnie wrote, “The bamboo is real and the flowers are fake. 🙂

Joseph Brenner wrote, “Real lucky bamboo, fake flowers. Also, the water in the containers may be real, but the droplets on the orchid are likely silicone. This appears to have been taken in a very real Walgreen’s, hence, the fake face in-a-jar in the background.(B>{D=”

Tom from Midwestern Jungle wrote, “The dracaena is real (but it’s fake “bamboo”) the flower is fake. So it’s like 2/3rd lies?”

mr_subjunctive from Plants Are the Strangest People wrote, “I’ll go with the crowd here and say both real and fake.”

Judy from Ohio wrote, “Bamboo is real -might have fake flowers mixed in”

Martha from Plowing Through Life wrote, “I’m also going with half and half. The dracaena is real, but the flowers are fake.”

Ginny Burton of Burton Optician in DC wrote, “A trick, huh? Well, maybe the orchid is real but the bamboo isn’t? I think the places where the bamboo is cut should be hollow if it were real. The combination of flowers and tortured bamboo is really unsettling, whether anything is real or fake.”

That’s seven votes real and fake together, and one vote unsettling, and zero votes all fake.

What’s the correct answer?

Maybe a closer view will help shed some light:

Good To Grow, real or fake plant puzzler

You guys absolutely amaze me with how sophisticated your plant knowledge is, and how keen your eyes are. You’re correct -the bamboo is alive, the flowers are fabric with silicone drops on them.

And they’re about the stupidest, crappiest, most terrible, ugliest creations I’ve ever seen. Seriously? Some poor kid in Indonesia got paid 12 cents a day to glue fake dew onto fake flowers attached to real plants? For what? That’s not clever. That’s not useful. Bamboo isn’t lucky for anyone except the people hawking it. They were $19.99 each! That’s ridiculous.

Anyway.

I suppose the bamboo is sorta lucky for everyone who played this puzzler, because it’s going to earn you prizes. So there’s that.

Claude, you were first with the correct answer, which makes you the best answerer. Well played, sir! You totally nailed that. For being so speedy, this week you’ve earned the following epithet: I’m a Cowboy, on a Steel Horse I Ride…oh no, wait, wait, that’s not right, that’s a Bon Jovi song. Your epithet is: The Fastest, Swiftest, Premierest, Bestest, Sweetest on the Inside, Pricklyest on the Outside, Numero Unoest, Quickest, of High Plant Intellect, Most Green, Grandest Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond.

Let’s say you’re out this weekend in Texas, and you meet someone new. You should introduce yourself as Claude The Fastest, Swiftest, Premierest, Bestest, Sweetest on the Inside, Pricklyest on the Outside, Numero Unoest, Quickest, of High Plant Intellect, Most Green, Grandest Champion of the Houseplant Blog Universe and Beyond. I’m sure it won’t be weird at all.

Congratulations! You may multiply all the prizes by one green chile chicken casserole as my thank you to you. Be sure to check your mailbox soon!

Everyone is winner – great job to all of you. Again, you impress me week after week. To show my appreciation for you playing, I’d like to award you the following prizes: The first weekend in May, a plastic backscratcher, four celebrations, two baked potatoes, a wicker chair,  12 1/2 bonus points, six more rewards, purple, five gold stars, one acequia, 17 eyelashes, three fuzzy caterpillars, a halo, a coupon good for one voucher, two satellites, an A+, carne adovada, one new dance craze, all the news that’s fit to print, jelly, a modest increase, three adjectives, 14 blessings, Spanish Broom and two grab bags.

Congratulations! And thank you again for playing!

Up next, the new puzzler:

???Real or Fake???

Are these flowers real or fake?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, real or fake plant puzzler

Think you know the answer, smartyplants? Leave your best guess in the comments section. You have until midnight MST (that’s 2a.m. EST) next Thursday, May 8th, to cast your vote. I’ll reveal the answer and the winner(s) after next week’s panel of Experts. Play for the prizes, stay for the glory.

I’ll be back tomorrow, I hope to see you here.

