Hellooooooooo! And welcome to the weekly roundup of plant news in and around my casa. Up first, we have breaking plant news!

*Breaking Plant News*Breaking Plant News*Breaking Plant News*

This just in:

Vicente, a Huernia oculata, has a brand new flower:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Huernia bloom

Vicente himself is new to my household, I got him a few weeks ago for five bucks at a succulent sale. He’s been sitting on an east-facing windowsill. I may have gone a little overboard with photographing Vicente the last couple of days:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Huernia bloom

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Huernia bloom

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, new Huernia bloom

May 1-31, 2014

Side views:

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Huernia bloom

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Huernia flower

Good To Grow, Liza's plants, Huernia bloom

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Huernia flower

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Huernia flower

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Huernia flower

Awesomeness!

With just that one bloom, I probably got about $16-$18 worth of enjoyment out of the plant. So already it’s been a good investment.

In other news, I have a correction from last week’s roundup. The blooms on Gus, a Gasteraloe, do get a little cuter than what I showed you (I’d dismissed them as fairly uninteresting). Here’s what they look like opened:

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Gasteraloe bloom

How come white tips on flowers make them so much more adorable?

Good To Grow, Liza's photos, Gasteraloe bloom

Sorry about that, I didn’t mean to sell Gus short.

And finally, here’s a look at the backdoor container garden oasis:

Good To Grow, Liza's backdoor container garden oasis

There are some spring flowers lingering, and some summer flowers just starting, along with the garlic, onions, strawberries, oregano, basil, parsley, and various succulents.

The summer crops – tomatoes, peppers and chayotes – are nearly ready for outdoor life. I’m hardening them off this week by exposing them to the sun in small doses. I don’t want them to get scorched, especially not the tomato plants that I cared for inside all winter. There’s no reason to rush them outside. Waiting may also help me avoid certain pests, and it gives the garlic and onion a little extra time to ripen. So as excited as I am to get started with my summer gardening, I’m not hurrying.

That’s the news from casa Liza.

I hope you’re getting your garden growing, too.

I’ll be back tomorrow, hope to see you here.

